Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist
Claudii Ptolemaei opera quae exstant omnia

Claudii Ptolemaei opera quae exstant omnia
2 Volume Set

$155.00 (R)

Part of Cambridge Library Collection - Classics

  • Date Published: February 2014
  • availability: In stock
  • format: Multiple copy pack
  • isbn: 9781108063630

$ 155.00 (R)
Multiple copy pack

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Looking for an examination copy?

If you are interested in the title for your course we can consider offering an examination copy. To register your interest please contact providing details of the course you are teaching.

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • Best known for his 1906 discovery of lost texts in the Archimedes Palimpsest, Danish scholar Johan Ludvig Heiberg (1854–1928), professor of classical philology at Copenhagen, published numerous editions of ancient mathematicians, including Archimedes and Apollonius of Perga (also reissued in this series). Between 1898 and 1907, he published in three parts the extant astronomical works of Ptolemy, active in second-century Alexandria. The Ptolemaic system, his geocentric model of the universe, prevailed in the Islamic world and in medieval Europe until the time of Copernicus. Volume 1 appeared in two parts. Part 1 (1898) contains Books 1-6 of Ptolemy's major astronomical treatise, the Almagest. Part 2 (1903) contains Books 7-13. Volume 2 (1907) contains a substantial prolegomena in Latin, followed by the Greek text of Ptolemy's shorter astronomical works, notably Hypotheseis ton planomenon, his planetary hypotheses, provided here with a facing-page translation into German.

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Date Published: February 2014
    • format: Multiple copy pack
    • isbn: 9781108063630
    • length: 1670 pages
    • dimensions: 217 x 141 x 100 mm
    • weight: 2.01kg
    • availability: In stock
  • Table of Contents

    Volume 1, Part 1: Praefatio
    Syntaxis mathematica, I-VI. Volume 1, Part 2: Praefatio
    Syntaxis mathematica, VII-XIII. Volume 2: Praefatio
    Risings of the fixed stars
    Planetary hypotheses
    Inscriptio canobi
    Handy tables
    Peri analemmatos

  • Author



    Johan Ludvig Heiberg

Sign In

Please sign in to access your account


Not already registered? Create an account now. ×

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.