Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist

Formal Specification and Design

$72.00 (C)

Part of Cambridge Tracts in Theoretical Computer Science

  • Date Published: November 2005
  • availability: Available
  • format: Paperback
  • isbn: 9780521435925

$ 72.00 (C)
Paperback

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Other available formats:
eBook


Looking for an examination copy?

If you are interested in the title for your course we can consider offering an examination copy. To register your interest please contact collegesales@cambridge.org providing details of the course you are teaching.

Description
Product filter button
Description
Contents
Resources
Courses
About the Authors
  • Formal specification is a method for precisely modelling computer-based systems that combines concepts from software engineering and mathematical logic. In this book the authors describe algebraic and state-based specification techniques from the unified view of the Common Object-oriented Language for Design, COLD, a wide-spectrum language in the tradition of VDM and Z. The kernel language is explained in detail, with many examples, including: set representation, a display device, an INGRES-like database system, and a line editor. Fundamental techniques such as initial algebra semantics, loose semantics, partial functions, hiding, sharing, predicate and dynamic logic, abstraction functions, representation of invariants and black-box correctness are also presented. More advanced ideas, for example Horn logic, and large systems are given in the final part. Appendices contain full details of the language's syntax and a specification library. Techniques for software development and design are emphasised throughout, so the book will be an excellent choice for courses in these areas.

    • Suitable for industry as well as academia - both authors work for Philips
    Read more

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity

    ×

    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?

    ×

    Product details

    • Date Published: November 2005
    • format: Paperback
    • isbn: 9780521435925
    • length: 352 pages
    • dimensions: 244 x 170 x 19 mm
    • weight: 0.56kg
    • availability: Available
  • Table of Contents

    Part I. Algebraic Specification:
    1. Introducing the basic concepts
    2. Setting up algebraic specifications
    3. Structuring algebraic specifications
    4. Implementing algebraic specifications
    Part II. State-Based Specification:
    5. From algebras to states
    6. Setting up state-based specification
    7. Structuring state-based specification
    8. Implementing state-based specification
    Part III. Advanced Techniques:
    9. Theoretical topics
    10. Additional language constructs
    11. Towards large systems
    Bibliography
    Appendices
    Index.

  • Authors

    L. M. G. Feijs

    H. B. M. Jonkers

Sign In

Please sign in to access your account

Cancel

Not already registered? Create an account now. ×

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email lecturers@cambridge.org

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner www.ebooks.com. Please see the permission section of the www.ebooks.com catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.

Cancel

Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

×
Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.
×