Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist

Remarkable Engineers
From Riquet to Shannon

$124.00 (P)

  • Date Published: March 2010
  • availability: In stock
  • format: Hardback
  • isbn: 9780521516211

$ 124.00 (P)

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Other available formats:
Paperback, eBook

Looking for an examination copy?

If you are interested in the title for your course we can consider offering an examination copy. To register your interest please contact providing details of the course you are teaching.

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • Engineering transformed the world completely between the 17th and 21st centuries. Remarkable Engineers tells the stories of 51 of the key pioneers in this transformation, from the designers and builders of the world’s railways, bridges and aeroplanes, to the founders of the modern electronics and communications revolutions. The focus throughout is on their varied life stories, and engineering and scientific detail is kept to a minimum. Engineer profiles are organized chronologically, inviting readers with an interest in engineering to follow the path by which these remarkable engineers utterly changed our lives.

    • Tells the varied life stories of 51 of the key engineers from the last 400 years
    • Includes profiles of electrical, mechanical, aerospace, chemical and civil engineers
    • Engineering detail is kept to a minimum, inviting any reader to follow this chronological path through the engineering innovations which changed the world
    Read more

    Reviews & endorsements

    " outstanding book...." - Optics & Photonics News

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Date Published: March 2010
    • format: Hardback
    • isbn: 9780521516211
    • length: 218 pages
    • dimensions: 236 x 156 x 16 mm
    • weight: 0.48kg
    • contains: 48 b/w illus.
    • availability: In stock
  • Table of Contents

    Part I. From Peter Paul Riquet to James Watt: Peter Paul Riquet (1604–1680)
    Sebastien le Prestre de Vauban (1633–1707)
    James Brindley (1716–1772)
    John Smeaton (1724–1792)
    James Watt (1736–1819)
    Part II. From William Jessop to Marc Brunel: William Jessop (1745–1814)
    Lazare Carnot (1753–1823)
    Thomas Telford (1757–1834)
    John Rennie (1761–1821)
    Sir Marc Isambard Brunel (1769–1849)
    Part III. From Richard Trevithick to Sadi Carnot: Richard Trevithick (1771–1833)
    Sir George Cayley (1773–1857)
    George Stephenson (1781–1848)
    Charles Babbage (1792–1871)
    Charles Vignoles (1793–1875)
    Sadi Carnot (1796–1832)
    Part IV. From Joseph Henry to Sir Joseph William Bazalgette: Joseph Henry (1797–1878)
    John Ericsson (1803–1899)
    Robert Stephenson (1803–1859)
    Isambard Kingdom Brunel (1806–1859)
    John Roebling (1806–1869)
    Sir Joseph William Bazalgette (1819–1891)
    Part V. From James Buchanan Eads to Alexander Graham Bell: James Buchanan Eads (1820–1887)
    William Thomson (Lord Kelvin) (1824–1907)
    Gustav Eiffel (1832–1923)
    George Westinghouse (1846–1914)
    Thomas Alva Edison (1847–1931)
    Alexander Graham Bell (1847–1922)
    Part VI. From Ferdinand Braun to Heinrich Hertz: Ferdinand Braun (1850–1918)
    Hertha Ayrton (1854–1923)
    Charles Parsons (1854–1931)
    Granville Woods (1856–1910)
    Nikola Tesla (1856–1943)
    Heinrich Hertz (1857–1894)
    Part VII. From Rudolf Diesel to Guglielmo Marconi: Rudolf Diesel (1858–1913)
    Elmer Sperry (1860–1930)
    Wilbur Wright (1867–1912) and Orville Wright (1871–1948)
    Frederick Lanchester (1868–1946)
    Guglielmo Marconi (1874–1937)
    Part VIII. From Peter Pal'chinskii to Vladimir Zworykin: Peter Pal'chinskii (1875–1929)
    Edith Clarke (1883–1958)
    Andrei Tupolev (1888–1972)
    John Logie Baird (1888–1946)
    Vladimir Zworykin (1889–1982)
    Part IX. From Dennis Gabor to Claude Shannon: Dennis Gabor (1900–1979)
    Sergei Pavlovich Korolev (1906–1966)
    Frank Whittle (1907–1996)
    William Shockley (1910–1989)
    Wernher von Braun (1912–1977)
    Claude Shannon (1916–2001).

  • Author

    Ioan James, University of Oxford
    Ioan James is Emeritus Professor of Mathematics at the University of Oxford and has had a distinguished career as a research mathematician. In recent years he has become interested in the history and development of scientific disciplines and the scientists involved. He was elected Fellow of the Royal Society in 1968. He is also the author of Remarkable Mathematicians, Remarkable Physicists, and Remarkable Biologists, all published by Cambridge University Press.

Sign In

Please sign in to access your account


Not already registered? Create an account now. ×

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.