Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist
Lives of the Queens of Scotland and English Princesses

Lives of the Queens of Scotland and English Princesses
Connected with the Regal Succession of Great Britain
8 Volume Paperback Set

$345.00 (R)

Part of Cambridge Library Collection - British and Irish History, General

  • Date Published: February 2011
  • availability: Available
  • format: Multiple copy pack
  • isbn: 9781108026185

$ 345.00 (R)
Multiple copy pack

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Looking for an examination copy?

If you are interested in the title for your course we can consider offering an examination copy. To register your interest please contact providing details of the course you are teaching.

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • Agnes Strickland (1796–1874) and her sister Elizabeth collaborated on many biographical projects. Although much of the work is Elizabeth's, she preferred to avoid publicity and her sister Agnes appeared as the sole author. This eight-volume series (originally published between 1850 and 1859) was the sequel to their hugely popular Lives of the Queens of England and allowed Agnes to indulge her passionate interest in Mary, Queen of Scots, to whom five volumes are devoted. It also contains biographies of Margaret Tudor, Magdalene of France, Mary of Lorraine, Mary's sister-in-law Lady Margaret Douglas, Countess of Lennox, Elizabeth Stuart, Princess Royal (later Queen of Bohemia) and her daughter Sophia, Electress of Bohemia. The Strickland sisters were pioneering historical biographers and key figures in the development of women's history. Writing from a female perspective, they included coverage of domestic matters that male historians had previously ignored.

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Date Published: February 2011
    • format: Multiple copy pack
    • isbn: 9781108026185
    • dimensions: 325 x 250 x 150 mm
    • weight: 4.82kg
    • contains: 16 b/w illus.
    • availability: Available
  • Table of Contents

    Volume 1: Introductory preface
    1. Life of Margaret Tudor, queen of James IV
    2. Life of Magdalene of France, first queen of James V
    3. Life of Mary of Lorraine, second queen of James V. Volume 2:
    4. Life of Mary of Lorraine, second queen of James V concluded
    5. Life of the Lady Margaret Douglas, Countess of Lennox. Volume 3:
    6. Mary Stuart. Volume 4:
    7. Mary Stuart continued. Volume 5:
    8. Mary Stuart continued. Volume 6:
    9. Mary Stuart continued. Volume 7:
    10. Mary Stuart concluded. Volume 8:
    11. Elizabeth Stuart, first Princess Royal of Great Britain
    12. Sophia, Electress of Hanover.

  • Authors

    Agnes Strickland

    Elizabeth Strickland

Sign In

Please sign in to access your account


Not already registered? Create an account now. ×

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.