Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist
Look Inside George Eliot

George Eliot

$30.99 (R)

Part of Cambridge Library Collection - Literary Studies

  • Date Published: September 2010
  • availability: Available
  • format: Paperback
  • isbn: 9781108019620

$ 30.99 (R)

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Looking for an examination copy?

If you are interested in the title for your course we can consider offering an examination copy. To register your interest please contact providing details of the course you are teaching.

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • This volume was originally published as part of the English Men of Letters series in 1902. This series aimed to bring a critical framework for reading and analysing novels to the large literate audience which had emerged as the result of mass education campaigns in the nineteenth century. Written by eminent scholars and combining biographical details with literary criticism, the English Men of Letters series was extremely successful and occupied a distinctive position in British literary education in the early twentieth century. Written by Victorian scholar and critic Sir Leslie Stephen (1832–1904) this volume examines the life and literary achievements of George Eliot (1819–1880), the first woman novelist to be included in the series. Arranged around Eliot's published novels, the biographical discussion of her life detailing her domestic life and literary criticism of her works reveals late Victorian ideals concerning fiction and a respectable life.

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Date Published: September 2010
    • format: Paperback
    • isbn: 9781108019620
    • length: 224 pages
    • dimensions: 216 x 140 x 13 mm
    • weight: 0.29kg
    • availability: Available
  • Table of Contents

    1. Early life
    2. Coventry
    3. 'The Westminster Review'
    4. 'Scenes of Clerical Life'
    5. 'Adam Bede'
    6. 'The Mill on the Floss'
    7. 'Silas Marner'
    8. Middle life
    9. 'Romola'
    10. 'Felix Holt'
    11. 'The Spanish Gypsy'
    12. 'Middlemarch'
    13. 'Daniel Deronda'
    14. Conclusion

  • Author

    Leslie Stephen

Sign In

Please sign in to access your account


Not already registered? Create an account now. ×

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.