Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist
The Staunton Shakespeare

The Staunton Shakespeare

Volume 2

$67.00 (R)

  • Date Published: July 2009
  • availability: Available
  • format: Paperback
  • isbn: 9781108000031

$ 67.00 (R)

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Looking for an examination copy?

If you are interested in the title for your course we can consider offering an examination copy. To register your interest please contact providing details of the course you are teaching.

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • First published in 1859, this is the second of three volumes of Howard Staunton's collection of Shakespeare's plays, with black-and-white illustrations by the prolific artist John Gilbert. Staunton's annotated edition, based on the folio and quarto editions collated with the texts of later editors from Rowe to Dyce, combines common sense with meticulous research, making it a definitive resource in its day. Each play is accompanied by an introduction giving details of its original production and publication and the sources of its plot, critical commentary, and footnotes explaining terms and expressions. This volume contains All's Well That Ends Well, Henry V, As You Like It, Pericles, Prince of Tyre; Twelfth Night, Henry VI Part I, Henry VI Part 2, Henry VI Part 3, Timon of Athens, Richard III, Measure for Measure, Henry VIII, and Cymbeline.

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Date Published: July 2009
    • format: Paperback
    • isbn: 9781108000031
    • length: 784 pages
    • dimensions: 234 x 40 x 156 mm
    • weight: 1.08kg
    • availability: Available
  • Table of Contents

    1. All's Well That Ends Well
    2. King Henry the Fifth
    3. As You Like It
    4. Pericles, Prince of Tyre
    5. Twelfth Night
    or, What You Will
    6. The First Part of King Henry the Sixth
    7. The Second Part of King Henry the Sixth
    8. The Third Part of King Henry the Sixth
    9. Timon of Athens
    10. Richard the Third
    11. Measure For Measure
    12. King Henry the Eighth
    13. Cymbeline.

  • Author

    William Shakespeare


    Howard Staunton

Sign In

Please sign in to access your account


Not already registered? Create an account now. ×

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.