Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist
The Girlhood of Shakespeare's Heroines

The Girlhood of Shakespeare's Heroines
In a Series of Fifteen Tales
3 Volume Paperback Set

$139.00 (R)

Part of Cambridge Library Collection - Shakespeare and Renaissance Drama

  • Date Published: September 2009
  • availability: Available
  • format: Multiple copy pack
  • isbn: 9781108001250

$ 139.00 (R)
Multiple copy pack

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Looking for an examination copy?

If you are interested in the title for your course we can consider offering an examination copy. To register your interest please contact providing details of the course you are teaching.

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • Mary Cowden Clarke (1809–98) was the daughter of the publisher Vincent Novello. She was a noted Shakespearian scholar who produced a complete concordance to his works in 1845, and her fascination with the plays led to her publishing in 1850 a series of imaginative accounts of the girlhood of some of his heroines. Her motive was 'to imagine the possible circumstances and influences of scene, event, and associate, surrounding the infant life of his heroines, which might have conduced to originate and foster those germs of character recognised in their maturity as by him developed; to conjecture what might have been the first imperfect dawnings of that which he has shown us in the meridian blaze of perfection'. These 'prequels' offer a back-story which is surprising in its subversive interpretation of the plays and especially of the role of the 'hero'.

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Date Published: September 2009
    • format: Multiple copy pack
    • isbn: 9781108001250
    • dimensions: 250 x 323 x 67 mm
    • weight: 2.18kg
    • availability: Available
  • Table of Contents

    Volume I:
    1. Portia
    2. The thane's daughter
    3. Helena
    4. Desdemona
    5. Meg and Alice
    Volume II:
    1. Isabella: the votaress
    2. Katharina and Bianca: the shrew and the demure
    3. Ophelia: the rose of Elsinore
    4. Rosalind and Celia: the friends
    5. Juliet: the white dove of Verona
    6. Illustrative notes
    Volume III:
    1. Beatrice and Hero
    2. Olivia
    3. Hermione
    4. Viola
    5. Imogen.

  • Author

    Mary Cowden Clarke

Sign In

Please sign in to access your account


Not already registered? Create an account now. ×

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.