Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist
Bach: The Goldberg Variations

Bach: The Goldberg Variations

$37.99 (P)

Part of Cambridge Music Handbooks

  • Date Published: October 2001
  • availability: Available
  • format: Paperback
  • isbn: 9780521001939

$ 37.99 (P)

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Other available formats:
Hardback, eBook

Looking for an examination copy?

If you are interested in the title for your course we can consider offering an examination copy. To register your interest please contact providing details of the course you are teaching.

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • Bach's spectacular Goldberg Variations represent a high point in the repertory of keyboard music, particularly for the harpsichord. This book takes a detailed look at how these variations originated, especially in relation to all Bach's ClavierÜbung volumes and late keyboard works, what their exceptionally intricate plan is, what kind of impact they have had, and how their mysterious beauty has been created. This guide to what was at the time the largest and most carefully conceived single work of keyboard music will appeal to students, performers and listeners.

    • A detailed guide to one of Bach's most popular keyboard works
    • Written by one of the foremost Bach scholars (author of the Organ Music of J. S. Bach)
    • Particularly valuable for performers
    Read more

    Reviews & endorsements

    "...this study explores not only music but its historical significance and reception, in prose that is clear, pithy, and to the point...Williams's latest book is a worthy addition to the Cambridge series." Notes

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Date Published: October 2001
    • format: Paperback
    • isbn: 9780521001939
    • length: 120 pages
    • dimensions: 214 x 141 x 7 mm
    • weight: 0.15kg
    • contains: 2 b/w illus. 23 music examples
    • availability: Available
  • Table of Contents

    1. Background and genesis
    2. Overall shape
    3. The movements
    4. Questions of reception
    Appendix: the intended harpsichord.

  • Author

    Peter Williams, University of Wales College of Cardiff
    Peter Williams (1937–2016) was an internationally renowned Bach scholar and performer. He held the first Chair in Performance Practice in Britain at the University of Edinburgh, where he was Director of the Russell Collection of Harpsichords and latterly Dean of Music. He was also the first Arts and Sciences Distinguished Chair at Duke University, North Carolina. He was the author of many books, including The Organ Music of J. S. Bach (3 volumes, Cambridge, 1981–1984), Bach, Handel, Scarlatti 1685–1985 (Cambridge, 1985), The Life of Bach (Cambridge, 2003) and J. S. Bach: A Life in Music (Cambridge, 2007).

Sign In

Please sign in to access your account


Not already registered? Create an account now. ×

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.