Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist
The Cambridge Companion to Mozart

The Cambridge Companion to Mozart

$39.99 (P)

Part of Cambridge Companions to Music

Simon P. Keefe, Cliff Eisen, Dorothea Link, Ian Woodfield, David Schroeder, W. Dean Sutcliffe, Paul Corneilson, Edmund J. Goehring, Julian Rushton, David J. Buch, John Daverio, Jan Smaczny, William Stafford, Katalin Komlós, Robert D. Levin
View all contributors
  • Date Published: June 2003
  • availability: Available
  • format: Paperback
  • isbn: 9780521001922

$ 39.99 (P)

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Other available formats:

Looking for an examination copy?

If you are interested in the title for your course we can consider offering an examination copy. To register your interest please contact providing details of the course you are teaching.

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • Bridging the gap between scholarly and popular images of Mozart, this volume provides comprehensive coverage of all of his important works; the reception of his music since his death; the contexts which inform his work and his significance as a performer. It paints a rounded yet focused picture of one of the most revered artists of all time and enhances readers' appreciation of his extraordinary output.

    • Comprehensive coverage of Mozart's works
    • Written by the top international Mozart scholars
    • The most recent scholarship presented in a user-friendly fashion
    Read more

    Reviews & endorsements

    "The Cambridge Companion to Mozart creates a multifaceted portrait of the composer's career and music that certainly will prove stimulating to students, scholars, and general music lovers. Editor Keefe should be applauded for assembling such a well-rounded collection of essays." NOTES

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Date Published: June 2003
    • format: Paperback
    • isbn: 9780521001922
    • length: 314 pages
    • dimensions: 248 x 175 x 28 mm
    • weight: 0.63kg
    • contains: 3 b/w illus. 8 tables 40 music examples
    • availability: Available
  • Table of Contents

    Introduction Simon P. Keefe
    Chronology of Mozart's Life and Works Simon P. Keefe
    Part I. Mozart in Context:
    1. Mozart and Salzburg Cliff Eisen
    2. Mozart in Vienna Dorothea Link
    3. Mozart's compositional methods: writing for his singers Ian Woodfield
    4. Mozart and late eighteenth-century aesthetics David Schroeder
    Part II. The Works:
    5. The keyboard music W. Dean Sutcliffe
    6. The concertos in aesthetic and stylistic context Simon P. Keefe
    7. The orchestral music Simon P. Keefe
    8. Mozart's chamber music Cliff Eisen
    9. Mozart as a vocal composer Paul Corneilson
    10. The opere buffe Edmund J. Goehring
    11. Mozart and opera seria Julian Rushton
    12. Mozart's German operas David J. Buch
    Part III. Reception:
    13. Mozart in the nineteenth century John Daverio
    14. Mozart and the twentieth century Jan Smaczny
    15. The Evolution of Mozartian biography William Stafford
    Part IV. Performance:
    16. Mozart the performer Katalin Komlós
    17. Performance practice in the music of Mozart Robert D. Levin.

  • Instructors have used or reviewed this title for the following courses

    • A Composer's Style and Music: Mozart
    • Haydn & Mozart
    • Music of Mozart
  • Editor

    Simon P. Keefe, Queen's University Belfast
    Simon P. Keefe is Lecturer in Music at Queen's University, Belfast. He is the author of Mozart's Piano Concertos: Dramatic Dialogue in the Age of Enlightenment (2001).


    Simon P. Keefe, Cliff Eisen, Dorothea Link, Ian Woodfield, David Schroeder, W. Dean Sutcliffe, Paul Corneilson, Edmund J. Goehring, Julian Rushton, David J. Buch, John Daverio, Jan Smaczny, William Stafford, Katalin Komlós, Robert D. Levin

Sign In

Please sign in to access your account


Not already registered? Create an account now. ×

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.