Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist
Look Inside The Keyboard in Baroque Europe

The Keyboard in Baroque Europe

$47.99 (C)

Part of Musical Performance and Reception

Alexander Silbiger, Rudolf Rasch, Pieter Dirksen, Christopher Hogwood, John Butt, Davitt Moroney, Christoph Wolff, Peter Williams, David Schulenberg, Peter Wollny, Menno van Delft, Robert D. Levin, Lars Ulrik Mortensen
View all contributors
  • Date Published: March 2009
  • availability: Available
  • format: Paperback
  • isbn: 9780521102612

$ 47.99 (C)

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Looking for an examination copy?

If you are interested in the title for your course we can consider offering an examination copy. To register your interest please contact providing details of the course you are teaching.

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • Twelve of today's most distinguished scholar-performers present essays on Baroque keyboard music. Topics include the place of the keyboard in concerted music, comparative teaching methods, studies of the repertoire of J.S. Bach and his sons, and writing in the later eighteenth century (including Mozart) and on matters of repertoire and performance practice. The volume concludes with a new arrangement for keyboard of Bach's D minor Violin Partita, published here for the first time.

    • Devised as a tribute to the great keyboard player Gustav Leonhardt
    • Covers a wide range of topics from Purcell to Mozart
    • Essays written by internationally famous performer-scholars
    Read more

    Reviews & endorsements

    Review of the hardback: 'The very experienced writers know how to relate particular issues to broader contexts, so there is much for the enthusiast, and several of the articles will henceforth be standards on my reading lists.' The British Clavichord Society

    Review of the hardback: 'May this collection encourage by example and stimulate further generations of Leonhardt's under-gardeners to labour for their art.' The Consort

    See more reviews

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Date Published: March 2009
    • format: Paperback
    • isbn: 9780521102612
    • length: 264 pages
    • dimensions: 246 x 189 x 14 mm
    • weight: 0.48kg
    • contains: 9 b/w illus. 44 music examples
    • availability: Available
  • Table of Contents

    Part I. Seventeenth-Century Keyboard Music:
    1. On Frescobaldi's recreation of the Chaconne and the Passacaglia Alexander Silbiger
    2. Hanß Jacob Froberger's travels 1649–1653 Rudolf Rasch
    3. New perspectives on Lynar A 1 Pieter Dirksen
    4. Creating the corpus: the 'Complete Keyboard Music' of Henry Purcell Christopher Hogwood
    Part II. The Early Eighteenth Century:
    5. Towards a genealogy of the keyboard concerto John Butt
    6. Couperin, Marpurg and Roeser: A Germanic Art de Toucher le Clavecin, or a French Wahre Art? Davitt Moroney
    Part III. The Bach Family:
    7. Invention, composition and the improvement of nature: apropos Bach the teacher and practical philosopher Christoph Wolff
    8. Is there an anxiety of influence discernible in J. S. Bach's Clavierübung I? Peter Williams
    9. 'Toward the most elegant taste': developments in keyboard accompaniment from J. S. to C. P. E. Bach David Schulenberg
    10 '… welche dem größten Concerte gleichen': the polonaises of Wilhelm Friedemann Bach Peter Wollny
    Part IV. The Later Eighteenth Century:
    11. Schnellen: a quintessential articulation technique in eighteenth-century keyboard playing Menno van Delft
    12. Mozart's non-metrical keyboard preludes Robert D. Levin
    Part V. Musical envoi:
    13. J. S. Bach: Keyboard Partita in A Minor after BWV 1004 Lars Ulrik Mortensen.

  • Editor

    Christopher Hogwood
    Christopher Hogwood is an internationally renowned conductor and founder of the Academy of Ancient Music, with whom he has made more than 200 recordings, including the first complete Mozart symphonies on period instruments.


    Alexander Silbiger, Rudolf Rasch, Pieter Dirksen, Christopher Hogwood, John Butt, Davitt Moroney, Christoph Wolff, Peter Williams, David Schulenberg, Peter Wollny, Menno van Delft, Robert D. Levin, Lars Ulrik Mortensen

Sign In

Please sign in to access your account


Not already registered? Create an account now. ×

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.