Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist
Mozart: Piano Concertos Nos. 20 and 21

Mozart: Piano Concertos Nos. 20 and 21

$37.99 (P)

Part of Cambridge Music Handbooks

  • Date Published: February 1999
  • availability: Available
  • format: Paperback
  • isbn: 9780521484756

$ 37.99 (P)

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Other available formats:

Looking for an examination copy?

If you are interested in the title for your course we can consider offering an examination copy. To register your interest please contact providing details of the course you are teaching.

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • This guide to Mozart's two most popular piano concertos--the D minor, K. 466, and the C major, K. 467 (the so-called "Elvira Madigan")--presents the historical background of the works, placing them within the context of Mozart's compositional and performance activities at a time when his reputation as both composer and pianist was at its peak. The special nature of the concerto, as both a form and genre, is explored through a selective survey of some of the approaches that various critics have taken in discussing Mozart's concertos. The concluding chapter discusses a wide range of issues of interest to modern performers.

    • Advances a theory of concerto form which is relevant even beyond these two specific works
    • Includes critical discussion of key performance practice issues relevant to modern performers
    • Explores how Mozart adapted standard symphonic forms to the special requirements of the concerto
    Read more

    Reviews & endorsements

    "Recommended to libraries with holdings devoted to music history and analysis at the upper-division undergraduate level and above." Choice

    "The entire handbook is exceptionally clear and well written." Notes

    See more reviews

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Date Published: February 1999
    • format: Paperback
    • isbn: 9780521484756
    • length: 156 pages
    • dimensions: 216 x 140 x 9 mm
    • weight: 0.21kg
    • contains: 5 music examples
    • availability: Available
  • Table of Contents

    1. Introduction
    2. Twentieth-century theories of Mozart's concerto form
    3. First movements
    4. Middle movements
    5. Finales
    6 Performance practice issues.

  • Author

    David Grayson, University of Minnesota

Sign In

Please sign in to access your account


Not already registered? Create an account now. ×

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.