Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist
Look Inside Music in Eighteenth-Century Austria

Music in Eighteenth-Century Austria

$45.99 (C)

David Wyn Jones, A. Peter Brown, Chappell White, Bruce MacIntyre, Geoffrey Chew, Robert N. Freeman, John A. Rice, Konrad Küster, Julian Rushton, Eva Badura-Skoda, Tia DeNora
View all contributors
  • Date Published: November 2006
  • availability: Available
  • format: Paperback
  • isbn: 9780521028592

$ 45.99 (C)

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Other available formats:

Looking for an examination copy?

If you are interested in the title for your course we can consider offering an examination copy. To register your interest please contact providing details of the course you are teaching.

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • The music of Haydn, Mozart and Beethoven forms a cornerstone of the modern repertoire, but very little is known about the context in which these composers worked. Beginning with the early decades of the eighteenth century, the essays in this volume consider some of the musical traditions and practices of this little understood period of music history. Four main areas are covered: orchestral music, sacred music, opera and keyboard music.

    • Was one of the first books to cover these topics
    • A context for the music of Haydn, Mozart and Beethoven
    • Valuable documentation of the state of research in the period
    Read more

    Reviews & endorsements

    "The book stands as an excellent contribution to modern research. The editor's introductory essay outlines genuinely new perspectives, and it ends, appropriately, with the statement Larsen's Challenge to Musicology remains." Alfred Mann, The Opera Quarterly

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Date Published: November 2006
    • format: Paperback
    • isbn: 9780521028592
    • length: 304 pages
    • dimensions: 244 x 168 x 17 mm
    • weight: 0.475kg
    • contains: 3 b/w illus. 12 tables 68 music examples
    • availability: Available
  • Table of Contents

    List of plates
    1. Introduction: new challenges, new perspectives David Wyn Jones
    Part I. Overture, Symphony and Concerto:
    2. The trumpet overture and sinfonia in Vienna (1715–1822): rise, decline and reformulation A. Peter Brown
    3. The early Classical violin concerto in Austria Chappell White
    Part II. Traditions in Sacred Music:
    4. Haydn's Missa sunt bona mixta malis and the a cappella tradition David Wyn Jones
    5. Johann Baptist Vanhal and the pastoral mass tradition Bruce MacIntyre
    6. The Austrian pastorella and the stylus rusticanus: comic and pastoral elements in Austrian music, 1750–1800 Geoffrey Chew
    Part III. Opera and Drama:
    7. The applausus musicus, or Singgedicht: a neglected genre of eighteenth-century musical theatre Robert N. Freeman
    8. The operas of Antonio Salieri as a reflection of Viennese opera 1770–1800 John A. Rice
    9. Lorenzo da Ponte's Viennese librettos Konrad Küster
    10. Viennese amateur or London professional? A reconsideration of Haydn's tragic cantata Arianna a Naxos Julian Rushton
    Part IV. Pianos and Pianism:
    11. The Viennese fortepiano in the eighteenth century Eva Badura-Skoda
    The Beethoven-Wölfl piano duel Tia DeNora

  • Editor

    David Wyn Jones, University of Wales College of Cardiff


    David Wyn Jones, A. Peter Brown, Chappell White, Bruce MacIntyre, Geoffrey Chew, Robert N. Freeman, John A. Rice, Konrad Küster, Julian Rushton, Eva Badura-Skoda, Tia DeNora

Sign In

Please sign in to access your account


Not already registered? Create an account now. ×

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.