Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist
Look Inside Music from the Tang Court

Music from the Tang Court

$46.99 (C)

  • Date Published: January 1988
  • availability: Available
  • format: Paperback
  • isbn: 9780521318341

$ 46.99 (C)

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Looking for an examination copy?

If you are interested in the title for your course we can consider offering an examination copy. To register your interest please contact providing details of the course you are teaching.

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • During the two centuries before 841, the Japanese Court borrowed a large amount of secular entertainment music from China, chiefly music of the Sui and Tang Courts. This music, known as 'Tang Music' is preserved in manuscripts written between the eighth and thirteenth centuries and to be seen today in the library of the Imperial Palace in Tokyo and in other Japanese libraries. Fourteen items, from the second scroll of pieces belonging to the Ichikotsu-cho mode-key group (Mixolydian on D), are offered in this fourth fascicle of Music from the Tang Court. With the exception of two items, each consisting of Prelude and Broaching, all are single movements. The first piece, in two movements, is overtly linked with Sogdiana, the Central Asian State which exerted so great an influence on the entertainment-music of the Tang Court. That some of the Togaku repertory had its roots in popular music is plainly shown by the title of this piece: 'Sogdians Drinking Wine'.

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Date Published: January 1988
    • format: Paperback
    • isbn: 9780521318341
    • length: 152 pages
    • dimensions: 297 x 210 x 8 mm
    • weight: 0.38kg
    • availability: Available
  • Table of Contents

    1. Sogdians Drinking Wine
    2. Miss Ka's Piece
    3. The Northern Courtyard
    4. Responding to the Shao
    5. One time
    6. All gold
    7. Continuing Harmony
    8. River-Waters
    9. Bodhisattvas
    10. The Wine-Puppet
    11. The Wine is Clear
    12. Drinking Wine
    13. A Bevy of Beauties
    14. Martial Virtue

  • Author

    Laurence Picken

Sign In

Please sign in to access your account


Not already registered? Create an account now. ×

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.