Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist

Greek Musical Writings

Volume 2. Harmonic and Acoustic Theory

$107.00 (C)

Part of Cambridge Readings in the Literature of Music

  • Date Published: December 2004
  • availability: Available
  • format: Paperback
  • isbn: 9780521616973

$ 107.00 (C)

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Other available formats:

Looking for an examination copy?

If you are interested in the title for your course we can consider offering an examination copy. To register your interest please contact providing details of the course you are teaching.

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • This second volume of Greek Musical Writings contains important texts on harmonic and acoustic theory, illustrating the progress of these sciences from their beginnings in the sixth century BC over the subsequent thousand years. Writers represented include Philolaus, Plato, Aristotle, Theophrastus, Aristoxenus, Ptolemy, Aristides, Archytas, and Quintilianus. All the Greek texts are newly translated by the editor. Some replace inadequate existing translations; other significant portions of the book include much that is essential for an understanding of medieval and Renaissance musicology. Dr Barker provides detailed and authoritative commentary and annotations to all the texts. Each section is prefaced by an introductory essay and some of the more complex issues are discussed further in appendices.

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Date Published: December 2004
    • format: Paperback
    • isbn: 9780521616973
    • length: 592 pages
    • dimensions: 229 x 152 x 34 mm
    • weight: 0.86kg
    • availability: Available
  • Table of Contents

    Abbreviations, texts and typographic conventions
    1. Pythagoras and Early Pythagoreanism
    Appendix: the scalar Divisions of Archytas
    2. Plato
    3. Aristotle
    4. The Aristotelian Problemata
    5. The Peripatetic De Audibilibus
    6. Theophrastus
    7. Aristoxenus Elementa Harmonica
    Book I
    Book II
    Book III
    Appendix: Aristoxenus' Elementa Rhythmica Book II
    8. The Euclidean Sectio Canonis
    9. Minor authors quoted by Theon and Porphyry
    Passages from Theon of Smyrna
    Passages from Porphyry
    10. Nicomachus Enchiridion
    11. Ptolemy Harmonicas
    Book I
    Book II
    Appendix to Book II
    Book III
    12. Aristides Quintilianus De Musica
    Book I
    Book II
    Book III

  • Editor

    Andrew Barker, University of Warwick

Sign In

Please sign in to access your account


Not already registered? Create an account now. ×

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.