Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist
Look Inside Summary of the History and Development of Medieval and Modern European Music

Summary of the History and Development of Medieval and Modern European Music

$25.99 (R)

Part of Cambridge Library Collection - Music

  • Date Published: September 2009
  • availability: Available
  • format: Paperback
  • isbn: 9781108005159

$ 25.99 (R)

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Looking for an examination copy?

If you are interested in the title for your course we can consider offering an examination copy. To register your interest please contact providing details of the course you are teaching.

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • In 1893, the English composer and director of the Royal College of Music C. Hubert H. Parry published Summary of the Development of Medieval and Modern European Music, an overview of European music from the middle ages to the work of Schubert and Brahms. Intended for music students, the book summarises the major composers, their work and the social circumstances that surrounded the creation of their music. This ambitious book is divided into 12 chronological chapters, from the troubadours and plainsong, through Bach and Handel to the rise of the symphony, Mozart, and the emergence of music as an expression of nationalism. In the book's first part, Parry deftly puts music in historical context, discussing England's Wars of the Roses, and the Reformation in relation to the changing styles throughout the sixteenth century; he then explores the music of the Restoration and the rise of opera.

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Date Published: September 2009
    • format: Paperback
    • isbn: 9781108005159
    • length: 128 pages
    • dimensions: 216 x 140 x 8 mm
    • weight: 0.17kg
    • availability: Available
  • Table of Contents

    1. The music of the middle ages
    2. Music in England from the beginning of Tudor Times till the restoration of the Stuarts
    3. The beginnings of opera and oratorio
    4. The progress of opera in various countries, from the middle of the seventeenth century till the time of Gluck
    5. Oratorio in the time of Bach and Handel
    6. The progress of instrumental music up to the time of J. S. Bach
    7. The progress of instrumental music in the eighteenth century
    8. Opera in Gluck and Mozart's time and immediately after
    9. The progress of instrumental music to Beethoven and his immediate successors
    10. Modern instrumental music
    11. Modern opera
    12. Modern vocal music.

  • Author

    Charles Hubert Hastings Parry

Sign In

Please sign in to access your account


Not already registered? Create an account now. ×

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.