Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist
Look Inside Messiaen: Quatuor pour la fin du temps

Messiaen: Quatuor pour la fin du temps

$85.00 (P)

Part of Cambridge Music Handbooks

  • Date Published: August 1998
  • availability: Available
  • format: Hardback
  • isbn: 9780521584975

$ 85.00 (P)

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Other available formats:

Looking for an examination copy?

If you are interested in the title for your course we can consider offering an examination copy. To register your interest please contact providing details of the course you are teaching.

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • This book is about one musical work, the popular Quartet for the End of Time by the great French composer Olivier Messiaen. Like virtually all of his works, the Quartet combines the striking technical achievement of Messiaen's rich and attractive musical style with a deeply felt theological inspiration. Anthony Pople's book provides an introduction to Messiaen's style through an examination of this great work, showing how it came to be composed while Messiaen was a prisoner-of-war and premiered under extraordinary conditions in Stalag VIIIA in 1941. He gives an in-depth assessment of each of its eight movements.

    • An accessible introduction to Messiaen's style through one of his most popular works
    • Contains an in-depth assessment of each of the Quartet's eight movements
    • Examines the many links between the work's theological inspiration and its musical language
    Read more

    Reviews & endorsements

    "Recommended for all music libraries." Choice

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Date Published: August 1998
    • format: Hardback
    • isbn: 9780521584975
    • length: 128 pages
    • dimensions: 225 x 148 x 14 mm
    • weight: 0.25kg
    • contains: 2 tables 31 music examples
    • availability: Available
  • Table of Contents

    1. 'Liturgie de cristal'
    2. 'Vocalise, pour l'Ange qui annonce la fin du temps'
    3. 'Abîme des oiseaux'
    4. 'Intermède'
    5. 'Louange à l'éternité de Jésus'
    6. 'Danse de la fureur, pour les septs trompettes'
    7. 'Fouillis d'arcs-en-ciel, pour l'Ange qui annonce la fin du temps'
    8. 'Louange à l'Immortalité de Jésus'
    9. Contexts.

  • Author

    Anthony Pople, University of Southampton

Sign In

Please sign in to access your account


Not already registered? Create an account now. ×

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.