Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist
Look Inside The Stravinsky Legacy

The Stravinsky Legacy

$73.99 (C)

Part of Music in the Twentieth Century

  • Date Published: November 2005
  • availability: Available
  • format: Paperback
  • isbn: 9780521023856

$ 73.99 (C)

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Looking for an examination copy?

If you are interested in the title for your course we can consider offering an examination copy. To register your interest please contact providing details of the course you are teaching.

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • The music of Igor Stravinsky has had a profound impact on the development of twentieth-century music. In this book, Jonathan Cross explores the technical and aesthetic legacy of Stravinsky in relation to a broad range of composers, from Varèse to Andriessen, from Messiaen to Birtwistle. He also proposes a reexamination of Stravinsky's own neoclassical music and Theodor Adorno's notorious critique of Stravinsky. This book is part history, part analysis, part aesthetics, and will be of value to anyone who takes an interest in the music of our time.

    • A comprehensive examination of the technical and aesthetic impact of Stravinsky's music on a broad range of twentieth-century composers
    • Includes a fresh look at analysis of Stravinsky's neoclassical works
    • Includes a reassessment of Adorno's Schoenberg-Stravinsky polemic
    Read more

    Reviews & endorsements

    "...The Stravinsky Legacy is a landmark achievement...superb work....The Stravinsky Legacy opens new vistas in Stravinsky scholarship. Thank you, Jonathan Cross, for suggesting this intriguing possibility." Notes

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Date Published: November 2005
    • format: Paperback
    • isbn: 9780521023856
    • length: 296 pages
    • dimensions: 244 x 170 x 16 mm
    • weight: 0.465kg
    • contains: 1 b/w illus. 51 music examples
    • availability: Available
  • Table of Contents

    Part I. The Stravinsky Legacy:
    1. Introduction: Stravinsky's modernism
    2. Block forms
    3. Structural rhythms
    4. Ritual theatres
    5. Minimal developments
    Part II. Stravinsky Reheard:
    6. A fresh look at Stravinsky analysis
    7. Conclusions: Stravinsky, Adorno and the problem of non-development.

  • Author

    Jonathan Cross, University of Bristol

Sign In

Please sign in to access your account


Not already registered? Create an account now. ×

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.