Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist
Observations on Man

Observations on Man
His Frame, his Duty, and his Expectations
2 Volume Set

$92.00 (C)

Part of Cambridge Library Collection - Philosophy

  • Date Published: October 2013
  • availability: In stock
  • format: Multiple copy pack
  • isbn: 9781108063685

$ 92.00 (C)
Multiple copy pack

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Looking for an examination copy?

If you are interested in the title for your course we can consider offering an examination copy. To register your interest please contact providing details of the course you are teaching.

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • The orphaned son of an Anglican clergyman, David Hartley (1705–57) was originally destined for holy orders. Declining to subscribe to the Thirty-Nine Articles, he turned to medicine and science yet remained a religious believer. This, his most significant work, provides a rigorous analysis of human nature, blending philosophy, psychology and theology. First published in two volumes in 1749, Observations on Man is notable for being based on the doctrine of the association of ideas. It greatly influenced scientists, theologians, social reformers and poets: Samuel Taylor Coleridge, who named his eldest son after Hartley, had his portrait painted while holding a copy. In Volume 1, Hartley utilises Newtonian science in his observations, presenting his theory of 'vibrations'. Volume 2 is particularly concerned with human morality and the duty and expectations of mankind. Hartley is keen to show that scientific observation is not necessarily in conflict with religious conviction.

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Date Published: October 2013
    • format: Multiple copy pack
    • isbn: 9781108063685
    • length: 1026 pages
    • dimensions: 222 x 140 x 65 mm
    • weight: 1.2kg
    • availability: In stock
  • Table of Contents

    Volume 1: Preface
    1. Of the general laws
    2. The application of the doctrines of vibrations
    3. A particular application of the foregoing theory
    4. The six classes of intellectual pleasures
    Conclusion. Volume 2: Introduction
    1. Of the being and attributes of God
    2. Of the truth of the Christian religion
    3. Of the rule of life
    4. Of the expectations of mankind

  • Author

    David Hartley

Sign In

Please sign in to access your account


Not already registered? Create an account now. ×

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.