Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist

Close to Home
Local Ties and Voting Radical Right in Europe

$105.00 (C)

Part of Cambridge Studies in Public Opinion and Political Psychology

  • Date Published: September 2018
  • availability: In stock
  • format: Hardback
  • isbn: 9781108421539

$ 105.00 (C)
Hardback

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Other available formats:
eBook


Looking for an examination copy?

If you are interested in the title for your course we can consider offering an examination copy. To register your interest please contact collegesales@cambridge.org providing details of the course you are teaching.

Description
Product filter button
Description
Contents
Resources
Courses
About the Authors
  • Who votes for radical right parties and why? This book argues that the increasing popularity of the radical right in Europe originates in community bonds: strong ties to one's locality motivate support for the radical right. These parties use nostalgic themes and symbolic politicking to idealize community, defend local autonomy, and ultimately draw local identity into the electoral realm. While other explanations of the radical right's popularity typify supporters as victims of macro-economic shifts and strains, the author's account explores people's day-to-day experiences that link local connections to political decisions. The analysis also raises questions about the political implications of different formal authority structures such as the level and nature of power devolved to local units. The localist model of radical right support illuminates the psychological, social, and institutional conditions and processes that render people's feelings about their cities, towns, and villages relevant for politics.

    • Offers a locally-oriented explanation of electoral shifts in advanced democracies, particularly the rise of radical right parties in Europe
    • Develops the concept of localism as a motivation for voting for people's electoral choice
    • Points out that devolution of authority can motivate radical right support
    Read more

    Reviews & endorsements

    ‘Close to Home succeeds in overturning what has become a pretty static view of radical right voters. Jennifer Fitzgerald's central contribution is to theorize localism and measure its impact through rigorous statistical tests. Fascinatingly, it turns out that localism works more through ideational mechanisms - feelings toward one's immediate surrounding - than through interpersonal contact. Imagined localism increases support for the radical right, but actual interactions with neighbors decreases it. And perhaps most interestingly, Fitzgerald shows that localism has helped with two constituencies in which the radical right has historically performed poorly: female voters and voters who identify as left-of-center. This is a novel, sophisticated, and compelling take on one of the most important political dynamics in advanced industrial societies.' David Art, Tufts University, Massachusetts

    ‘In the tradition of Lazarsfeld, Fitzgerald's book develops a localist model of radical right support. A brilliant and original demonstration, based on a wealth of comparative survey data, showing how much neighborhood and community ties matter.' Nonna Mayer, Emerita CNRS Research Director, Sciences Po, Paris

    ‘While country specialists have always been aware of the huge regional differences in support for the radical right, the comparative study of radical Right-Wing mobilization has for a long time focused almost exclusively on the level of the nation state. This is changing rapidly: the question of how local conditions and - perhaps more importantly - beliefs about local conditions and communities facilitate or hinder mobilization by the radical right is becoming one of the most important issue in this field of research. Professor Fitzgerald has written the first book-length treatise on this issue. She provides a concise theoretical framework and ample empirical evidence. Without doubt, her book will shape the development of the subfield.' Kai Arzheimer, University of Mainz, Germany

    See more reviews

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity

    ×

    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?

    ×

    Product details

    • Date Published: September 2018
    • format: Hardback
    • isbn: 9781108421539
    • length: 264 pages
    • dimensions: 235 x 157 x 20 mm
    • weight: 0.5kg
    • contains: 39 b/w illus. 36 tables
    • availability: In stock
  • Table of Contents

    1. Introduction
    2. Theorizing localism and radical right support
    3. Localism and radical right support in Europe
    4. Who are the localists that support the radical right?
    5. Neighborly ties, local autonomy, and SVP support in Switzerland
    6. Local autonomy shifts, local cohesion, and Le Pen support in France
    7. Local political salience and radical right party success in OECD countries
    8. Conclusion.

  • Author

    Jennifer Fitzgerald, University of Colorado Boulder
    Jennifer Fitzgerald is co-author of Partisan Families (Cambridge, 2007), awarded the International Society of Political Psychology's Alexander George Book Award for best book in political psychology. Her other accolades include a Fulbright Award to conduct research in France, the University of Chicago's Morton Kaplan Prize, and repeated teaching awards at the University of Colorado Boulder where she is Associate Professor of Political Science. Her research has been published in the Journal of Politics, Comparative Political Studies, Political Behavior, World Politics, Electoral Studies and International Migration Review, among others.

Sign In

Please sign in to access your account

Cancel

Not already registered? Create an account now. ×

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email lecturers@cambridge.org

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner www.ebooks.com. Please see the permission section of the www.ebooks.com catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.

Cancel

Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

×
Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.
×