Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist

The Logical Foundations of Bradley's Metaphysics
Judgment, Inference, and Truth

$29.00 USD

  • Date Published: May 2005
  • availability: This ISBN is for an eBook version which is distributed on our behalf by a third party.
  • format: Adobe eBook Reader
  • isbn: 9780511078880

$ 29.00 USD
Adobe eBook Reader

You will be taken to ebooks.com for this purchase
Buy eBook Add to wishlist

Other available formats:
Hardback, Paperback


Looking for an inspection copy?

This title is not currently available on inspection

Description
Product filter button
Description
Contents
Resources
Courses
About the Authors
  • This book is a major contribution to the study of the philosopher F. H. Bradley, the most influential member of the nineteenth-century school of British Idealists. It offers a sustained interpretation of Bradley's Principles of Logic, explaining the problem of how it is possible for inferences to be both valid and yet have conclusions that contain new information. The author then describes how this solution provides a basis for Bradley's metaphysical view that reality is one interconnected experience and how this gives rise to a new problem of truth.

    • Makes Bradley comprehensible to philosophers trained in the analytic tradition
    • Was the first book on Bradley in several years which was of particular interest to historians of 19th century British philosophy
    Read more

    Reviews & endorsements

    Review of the hardback: '… the author unpacks the major issues with which Bradley is dealing, and shows both the main thrust of Bradley's overall argument and also the structure of the various stages on this journey. The development of the commentary is always clear, as is the prose in which it is presented. Such things as the nature of the ideal in Bradley, while in one sense relatively easy, is difficult to those raised in the tradition of Russell or Quine; and the author explains such things.' F. F. Wilson, University of Toronto

    Review of the hardback: 'There is no book which confronts comprehensively - as Allard's does - the way in which Bradley arrives at his complexly interrelated theories of judgment, inference and truth by negative evaluation of alternative accounts … Allard succeeds in combining at each stage, lucid exegesis with critical discussion that gives Bradley's theories a contemporary relevance and raises them far above objects of merely historical interest.' Guy Stock, University of Dundee

    See more reviews

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity

    ×

    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?

    ×

    Product details

    • Date Published: May 2005
    • format: Adobe eBook Reader
    • isbn: 9780511078880
    • availability: This ISBN is for an eBook version which is distributed on our behalf by a third party.
  • Table of Contents

    1. Faith, idealism, and logic
    2. Bradley's project
    3. Judgment
    4. Conditional judgments
    5. A system of judgments
    6. The problem of inference
    7. The validity of inference
    8. Truth.

  • Author

    James Allard, Montana State University

Sign In

Please sign in to access your account

Cancel

Not already registered? Create an account now. ×

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email lecturers@cambridge.org

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner www.ebooks.com. Please see the permission section of the www.ebooks.com catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.

Cancel

Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

×
Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.
×