Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist
Look Inside Mark Twain

Mark Twain
The Contemporary Reviews

AUD$74.95 inc GST

Part of American Critical Archives

  • Author: Louis Budd, Duke University, North Carolina
  • Date Published: April 2011
  • availability: Available
  • format: Paperback
  • isbn: 9780521153805

AUD$ 74.95 inc GST

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Other available formats:

Looking for an inspection copy?

Please email to enquire about an inspection copy of this book

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • The American Critical Archives is a series of reference books that provide representative selections of contemporary reviews of the main works of major American authors. Specifically, each volume contains both full reviews and excerpts from reviews that appeared in newspapers and weekly and monthly periodicals, generally within a few months of the publication of the work concerned. This 1999 book is a systematic, comprehensive gathering of the reviews (primarily in the United States and Britain) of Mark Twain's books published up until 1917. The reviews collected here are essential reading for anyone interested in Twain criticism and reception. In addition, by devoting attention to each individual work, the volume provides the broadest possible perspective on Twain's career.

    • Exhaustive collection of contemporary reviews of Twain's corpus
    • Essential reference tool for all Twain scholars
    • Includes many previously unrecognized reviews
    Read more

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Date Published: April 2011
    • format: Paperback
    • isbn: 9780521153805
    • length: 670 pages
    • dimensions: 234 x 156 x 34 mm
    • weight: 0.93kg
    • availability: Available
  • Table of Contents

    Series editor's preface
    1. The Celebrated Jumping Frog of Calaveras County (1867)
    2. The Innocents Abroad, or The New Pilgrims' Progress (1869)
    3. Mark Twain's (Burlesque) Autobiography and First Romance (1871)
    4. Roughing It (1872)
    5. A Curious Dream, and other sketches (1872)
    6. The Gilded Age: a Tale of To-Day (1873)
    7. Sketches, New and Old (1875)
    8. The Adventures of Tom Sawyer (1876)
    9. Mark Twain's Patent Self-Pasting Scrap Book (1877)
    10. A True Story, and The Recent Carnival of Crime (1877)
    11. Punch, Brothers, Punch! and Other Sketches (1878)
    12. A Tramp Abroad (1880)
    13. The Prince and the Pauper: A Tale for Young People of All Ages (1881, 1882)
    14. The Stolen White Elephant Etc. (1882)
    15. Life on the Mississippi (1883)
    16. Adventures of Huckleberry Finn (1884, 1885)
    17. A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur's Court (1889)
    18. Merry Tales (1892)
    19. The American Claimant (1892)
    20. The £1,000,000 Bank-Note and Other Stories (1893)
    21. Tom Sawyer Abroad (1894)
    22. Pudd'nhead Wilson: A Tale (1894)
    23. The Tragedy of Pudd'nhead Wilson and The Comedy of Those Extraordinary Twins (1894)
    24. Personal Recollections of Joan of Arc (1896)
    25. Tom Sawyer Abroad, Tom Sawyer, Detective and Other Stories (1896)
    26. Tom Sawyer, Detective and Other Tales (1897)
    27. How to Tell a Story and Other Essays (1897)
    28. More Tramps Abroad (1897)
    29. Following the Equator (1897)
    30. The Man that Corrupted Hadleyburg and Other Stories and Essays (1900)
    31. A Double Barrelled Detective Story (1902)
    32. Extracts from Adam's Diary (1904)
    33. A Dog's Tale (1904)
    34. Editorial Wild Oats (1905)
    35. King Leopold's Soliloquy (1905, 1907)
    36. Eve's Diary (1906)
    37. The $30,000 Bequest and Other Stories (1906)
    38. Christian Science (1907)
    39. A Horse's Tail (1907)
    40. Is Shakespeare Dead? (1909)
    41. Extract from Captain Stormfield's Visit to Heaven (1909)
    42. Mark Twain's Speeches (1910)
    43. The Mysterious Stranger: A Romance (1916)
    44. What Is Man? and Other Essays (1917)

  • Author

    Louis Budd, Duke University, North Carolina

Sign In

Please sign in to access your account


Not already registered? Create an account now. ×

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.