Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist

The Cambridge History of Sixteenth-Century Music

AUD$218.95 inc GST

Part of The Cambridge History of Music

Iain Fenlon, Richard Wistreich, Robert L. Kendrick, Alexander Fisher, Magnus Williamson , Olivia Bloechl, Melinda Latour, Flora Dennis, Kate van Orden, Giuseppe Gerbino, Inga Mai Groote, Thomas Christensen, Floris Cohen, Jacomien Prins, Angela Voss
View all contributors
  • Date Published: January 2019
  • availability: Available
  • format: Hardback
  • isbn: 9780521195942

AUD$ 218.95 inc GST

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Other available formats:

Looking for an inspection copy?

Please email to enquire about an inspection copy of this book

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • Part of the seminal Cambridge History of Music series, this volume departs from standard histories of early modern Western music in two important ways. First, it considers music as something primarily experienced by people in their daily lives, whether as musicians or listeners, and as something that happened in particular locations, and different intellectual and ideological contexts, rather than as a story of genres, individual counties, and composers and their works. Second, by constraining discussion within the limits of a 100-year timespan, the music culture of the sixteenth century is freed from its conventional (and tenuous) absorption within the abstraction of 'the Renaissance', and is understood in terms of recent developments in the broader narrative of this turbulent period of European history. Both an original take on a well-known period in early music and a key work of reference for scholars, this volume makes an important contribution to the history of music.

    • Provides an alternative to conventional 'composers and works' histories of music
    • Readers can understand the material without having to be able to read music
    • Offers chapters by ten different authors, specialists in their respective fields
    Read more

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Date Published: January 2019
    • format: Hardback
    • isbn: 9780521195942
    • length: 542 pages
    • dimensions: 235 x 158 x 28 mm
    • weight: 1kg
    • contains: 36 b/w illus. 4 maps 1 table
    • availability: Available
  • Table of Contents

    Introduction Iain Fenlon and Richard Wistreich
    Part I. Confessions, Identities, and Rhetorics of Power:
    1. Catholic music in the sixteenth century Robert L. Kendrick
    2. Lutheranism and Calvinism Alexander Fisher
    3. Music and reform in France, England and Scotland Magnus Williamson
    4. Music in the early colonial world Olivia Bloechl
    4.1. Mexico City Melinda Latour
    4.2. The Catholic Mission to Japan 1549–1614 Olivia Bloechl
    5. Music and War Richard Wistreich
    Part II. Culture, Place and Practice:
    6. Urban soundscapes Iain Fenlon
    7. Interior spaces for music Flora Dennis
    8. The lives of musicians Richard Wistreich
    9. Domestic music Kate van Orden
    Part III. Institutions, Ideas and the Order of Nature:
    10. Institutions and intellectual life
    10.1. Italy Giuseppe Gerbino
    10.2. Germany Inga Mai Groote
    11. Music theory and pedagogy Thomas Christensen
    12. Music and science Floris Cohen and Jacomien Prins
    13. Music and magic Angela Voss.

  • Editors

    Iain Fenlon, King's College, Cambridge
    Iain Fenlon is Emeritus Professor of Historical Musicology at the University of Cambridge and a Fellow of King's College, Cambridge. He is the Editor of the journal Early Music History. His most recent books are The Ceremonial City: History, Memory and Myth in Renaissance Venice (2008), Piazza San Marco (2009), and (co-edited with Inga Groote) Heinrich Glarean's Books: The Intellectual World of a Sixteenth-Century Musical Humanist (Cambridge, 2013).

    Richard Wistreich, Royal College of Music, London
    Richard Wistreich is Professor of Music and Director of Research at the Royal College of Music in London. His published work includes The Cambridge Companion to Monteverdi (edited, with John Whenham, Cambridge, 2007) and Warrior, Courtier, Singer: Giulio Cesare Brancaccio and the Performance of Identity in the Late Renaissance (2007). He has also had a long career as a professional singer specialising in sixteenth- and seventeenth-century music, during which he has made more than 100 commercial recordings, appeared in opera, solo recitals, and as a member of several seminal ensembles of the early music revival.


    Iain Fenlon, Richard Wistreich, Robert L. Kendrick, Alexander Fisher, Magnus Williamson , Olivia Bloechl, Melinda Latour, Flora Dennis, Kate van Orden, Giuseppe Gerbino, Inga Mai Groote, Thomas Christensen, Floris Cohen, Jacomien Prins, Angela Voss

Sign In

Please sign in to access your account


Not already registered? Create an account now. ×

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.