Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist
Look Inside Lives of the Queens of England from the Norman Conquest

Lives of the Queens of England from the Norman Conquest

Volume 1


Part of Cambridge Library Collection - British and Irish History, General

  • Date Published: November 2010
  • availability: Available
  • format: Paperback
  • isbn: 9781108019705

£ 40.99

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Looking for an inspection copy?

This title is not currently available on inspection

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • The English writer Agnes Strickland (1796–1874) began her career writing poetry and romances before turning to biographical studies. This eight-volume series, written in collaboration with her sister Elizabeth, and first published between 1840 and 1849, was her most ambitious project. It provides accounts of the queens of England from Matilda of Flanders to Queen Anne. Hugely popular in the Victorian period, Lives of the Queens of England and its sequel Lives of the Queens of Scotland remain important landmarks in the development of biography as a genre, and provide interesting perspectives on women's contribution to modern historiography. Volume 1 contains eight biographies of medieval queens, from Matilda of Flanders (c.1031–1083) to Anne of Bohemia in the fourteenth century. For more information on these authors, see and

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Date Published: November 2010
    • format: Paperback
    • isbn: 9781108019705
    • length: 672 pages
    • dimensions: 216 x 140 x 34 mm
    • weight: 0.77kg
    • contains: 15 b/w illus.
    • availability: Available
  • Table of Contents

    1. Matilda of Flanders, queen of William the Conqueror
    2. Matilda of Scotland, queen of Henry I
    3. Adelicia of Louvaine, second queen of Henry I
    4. Matilda of Boulogne, queen of Stephen
    5. Eleanora of Aquitaine, queen of Henry II
    6. Berengaria of Navarre, queen of Richard I
    7. Isabella of Angouleme, queen of King John
    8. Eleanor of Provence, surnamed La Belle, queen of Henry III
    9. Marguerite of France, second queen of Edward I
    10. Isabella of France, surnamed The Fair, queen of Edward II
    11. Philippa of Hainault, queen of Edward III
    12. Anne of Bohemia, surnamed The Good, first queen of Richard II.

  • Authors

    Agnes Strickland

    Elizabeth Strickland

Sign In

Please sign in to access your account


Not already registered? Create an account now. ×

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.