Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist
The Life of Charles Dickens

The Life of Charles Dickens
3 Volume Set


Part of Cambridge Library Collection - Literary Studies

  • Date Published: December 2011
  • availability: Available
  • format: Multiple copy pack
  • isbn: 9781108039345

£ 93.00
Multiple copy pack

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Looking for an inspection copy?

This title is not currently available on inspection

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • John Forster (1812–76), an exact contemporary of Charles Dickens, was one of his closest friends, and acted for him (as for many other authors) as advisor, editor, proofreader, agent and marketing manager: according to Thackeray, 'whenever anyone is in a scrape we all fly to him for refuge. He is omniscient and works miracles.' Forster was Dickens' literary executor, and was left the manuscripts of many of the novels, which he in turn left (along with the rest of his magnificent library) to the South Kensington Museum (later the Victoria and Albert Museum). He was ideally placed to write a biography of Dickens, having known him since the 1830s, and having been involved in deeply private matters including Dickens' separation from his wife. This three-volume account, first published 1872–4, is reissued here from early printings; many further reprints and editions followed over the course of the nineteenth century.

    Reviews & endorsements

    'No writer would ever know as much about Dickens as [Forster] did. Long out of print, his life is now reissued by Cambridge University Press to mark Dickens's bicentenary.' London Review of Books

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Date Published: December 2011
    • format: Multiple copy pack
    • isbn: 9781108039345
    • dimensions: 217 x 140 x 85 mm
    • weight: 1.89kg
    • availability: Available
  • Table of Contents

    Volume 1:
    1. 1812–22. Childhood
    2. 1822–4. Hard experiences in boyhood
    3. 1824–30. School days and start in life
    4. 1831–5. Reporters' gallery and newspaper literature
    5. 1836. First book, and origin of Pickwick
    6. 1837. Writing the Pickwick Papers
    7. 1837 and 1838. Between Pickwick and Nickleby
    8. 1838. Oliver Twist
    9. 1838–9. Nicholas Nickleby
    10. 1838–9. During and after Nickleby
    11. 1839. New literary project
    12. 1840–1. The Old Curiosity Shop
    13. 1840. Devonshire Terrace and Broadstairs
    14. 1841. Barnaby Rudge
    15. 1841. Public dinner in Edinburgh
    16. 1841. Adventures in the Highlands
    17. 1841. Again at Broadstairs
    18. 1841. Eve of the visit to America
    19. 1842. First impressions of America
    20. 1842. Second impressions of America
    21. 1842. Philadelphia, Washington, and the South
    22. 1842. Canal boat journeys: bound Far West
    23. 1842. The Far West: to Niagara Falls
    24. 1842. Niagara and Montreal. Volume 2:
    1. 1842. American Notes
    2. 1843. First year of Martin Chuzzlewit
    3. 1843–4. Chuzzlewit disapointments and Christmas Carol
    4. Year of departure for Italy
    5. 1844. Idleness at Albaro: Villa Bagnerello
    6. 1844. Work in Genoa: Palazzo Peschiere
    7. 1844. Italian travel
    8. 1845. Last months in Italy
    9. 1845–6. Again in England
    10. 1846. A home in Switzerland
    11. 1846. Swiss people and scenery
    12. 1846. Sketches chiefly personal
    13. 1846. Literary labour at Lausanne
    14. 1846. Revolution at Geneva, Christmas Book, and last days in Switzerland
    15. 1846–7. Three months in Paris
    16. 1846–8. Dombey and Son
    17. 1847–52. Splendid strolling
    18. 1848–51. Seaside holidays
    19. 1848–50. Haunted Man and Household Words
    20. 1848–51. Last years in Devonshire Terrace. Volume 3:
    1. 1850–3. David Copperfield and Bleak House
    2. 1853–5. Home incidents and Hard Times
    3. 1853. Switzerland and Italy revisited
    4. 1853, 1854, and 1856. Three summers at Boulogne
    5. 1855, 1856. Residence in Paris
    6. 1855–7. Little Dorrit, and a lazy tour
    7. 1857–8. What happened at this time
    8. 1856–70. Gadshill Place
    9. 1858–9. First paid readings
    10. 1859–61. All the Year Round and the Uncommercial Traveller
    11. 1861–3. Second series of readings
    12. 1855–65. Hints for books written and unwritten
    13. 1864–7. Third series of readings
    14. 1836–70. Dickens as a novelist
    15. 1867. America revisited. November and December, 1867
    16. 1868. America revisited. January to April, 1868
    17. 1868–70. Last readings
    18. 1869–70. Last book
    19. 1836–70. Personal characteristics
    20. 1869–70. The end

  • Author

    John Forster

Sign In

Please sign in to access your account


Not already registered? Create an account now. ×

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.