Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist

Mozart's Chamber Music with Keyboard


  • Editor: Martin Harlow, Royal Northern College of Music, Manchester
Martin Harlow, Nicholas Baragwanath, Peter Walls, Robin Stowell, Katalin Komlós, Colin Lawson, Roman Ivanovitch, Simon P. Keefe, Robert S. Hatten, John Irving, Clive Brown, Charles Rosen
View all contributors
  • Date Published: July 2015
  • availability: Available
  • format: Paperback
  • isbn: 9781107534285

£ 23.99

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Other available formats:
Hardback, eBook

Looking for an inspection copy?

This title is not currently available on inspection

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • Internationally renowned scholars and performers present a wide range of new analytical, historical and critical perspectives on some of Mozart's most popular chamber music: his sonatas with violin, keyboard trios and quartets and the quintet with wind instruments. The chapters trace a broad chronology, from the childhood works, to the Mannheim and Paris sonatas with keyboard and violin, and the mature compositions from his Vienna years. Drawing upon the most recent research, this study serves the reader, be they a performer, listener or scholar, with a collection of writings that demonstrate the composer's innovative developments to generic archetypes and which explore and assess Mozart's creative response to the opportunities afforded by new and diverse instrumental combinations. Manners of performance of this music far removed from our own are revealed, with concluding chapters considering historically informed practice and the challenges for modern performers and audiences.

    • Presents both an in-depth examination of individual keyboard works and also considers the work as a corpus - the first English-language book to do so
    • The contributors are some of the most noteworthy international Mozart scholars and the book features a fascinating interview with Charles Rosen
    • Provides a range of perspectives - analytical, historical and critical - and draws upon the most recent Mozart research
    Read more

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Date Published: July 2015
    • format: Paperback
    • isbn: 9781107534285
    • length: 300 pages
    • dimensions: 244 x 170 x 16 mm
    • weight: 0.48kg
    • contains: 2 b/w illus. 9 tables 158 music examples
    • availability: Available
  • Table of Contents

    1. The chamber music with keyboard in Mozart biography Martin Harlow
    2. Mozart's early chamber music with keyboard: traditions of performance, composition, and commodification Nicholas Baragwanath
    3. Opus 1, take 2: Mozart's Mannheim and Paris sonatas for keyboard and violin Peter Walls
    4. Mozart's 'Viennese' sonatas for keyboard and violin according to Ferdinand David: a survey of editorial and violin performance practices Robin Stowell
    5. Mozart's keyboard trios: styles, textures and contexts Katalin Komlós
    6. A winning strike: the miracle of Mozart's 'Kegelstatt' Colin Lawson
    7. An experiment in variation: the finale of Mozart's Piano Trio in G, K.496 Roman Ivanovitch
    8. On instrumental sounds, roles, genres and performances: Mozart's Piano Quartets, K.478 and K.493 Simon P. Keefe
    9. Enlarging the musical discourse: Mozart's Piano Quartet in G Minor, K.478 Robert S. Hatten
    10. Action, reaction and interaction, and the play of style and genre in Mozart's Piano and Wind Quintet, K.452 Martin Harlow
    11. Inhabiting Mozart's chamber music: the fortepianist's tale John Irving
    12. Reading between the lines: the notation and performance of Mozart's chamber music with keyboard Clive Brown
    13. Private and public forms of art: Charles Rosen on Mozart's chamber music with keyboard Charles Rosen in conversation.

  • Editor

    Martin Harlow, Royal Northern College of Music, Manchester
    Martin Harlow is Dean of Academic Studies at the Royal Northern College of Music in Manchester. His principal field of research is Classical period wind ensemble music and associated issues of historical performance practice.


    Martin Harlow, Nicholas Baragwanath, Peter Walls, Robin Stowell, Katalin Komlós, Colin Lawson, Roman Ivanovitch, Simon P. Keefe, Robert S. Hatten, John Irving, Clive Brown, Charles Rosen

Sign In

Please sign in to access your account


Not already registered? Create an account now. ×

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.