Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist

Berlioz Studies


Part of Cambridge Composer Studies

David Cairns, Hugh MacDonald, Ian Kemp, Peter Bloom, Julian Rushton, David B. Levy, Katherine Reeve, Joël-Marie Fauquet, Jacques Barzun
View all contributors
  • Date Published: November 2006
  • availability: Available
  • format: Paperback
  • isbn: 9780521028561

£ 40.99

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Other available formats:
Hardback, eBook

Looking for an inspection copy?

This title is not currently available on inspection

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • This volume contains nine substantial essays by the world's leading Berlioz scholars. They cover various aspects of Berlioz's life and works and represent an important contribution to Berlioz research. The book includes essays based on documents, both biographical and musical, that give us, among other things, a portrait of the artist as a young man and a revealing view of an important but little-studied work of his maturity. There are readings of Romeo et Juliette and La Damnation de Faust that wrestle anew with the problems of the relationships between literature and music and - as Berlioz's music nearly always requires - with the problems of genre. Two views of Berlioz's Les Nuits d'été are presented which ask when and why the work was conceived, and how the work coheres. The practical question of Berlioz's metronome marks are here thoroughly studied for the first time. The volume closes with a novel piece, in dialogue form, by the elder statesman of Berlioz scholars, Jacques Barzun, who treats with exceptional grace the profound issues raised by Berlioz the man and musician.

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Date Published: November 2006
    • format: Paperback
    • isbn: 9780521028561
    • length: 300 pages
    • dimensions: 228 x 152 x 18 mm
    • weight: 0.454kg
    • availability: Available
  • Table of Contents

    List of abbreviations
    1. The Reboul-Berlioz collection David Cairns
    2. Berlioz and the metronome Hugh MacDonald
    3. Romeo and Juliet and Roméo et Juliette Ian Kemp
    4. In the shadows of Les Nuits d'été Peter Bloom
    5. Les Nuits d'ete: cycle or collection? Julian Rushton
    6. 'Ritter Berlioz' in Germany David B. Levy
    7. The Damnation of Faust: the perils of heroism in Music Katherine Reeve
    8. Berlioz's version of Gluck's Orphée Joël-Marie Fauquet
    9. Overheard at Glimmerglass ('famous last words') Jacques Barzun

  • Editor

    Peter Bloom


    David Cairns, Hugh MacDonald, Ian Kemp, Peter Bloom, Julian Rushton, David B. Levy, Katherine Reeve, Joël-Marie Fauquet, Jacques Barzun

Sign In

Please sign in to access your account


Not already registered? Create an account now. ×

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.