Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist
The Organ Music of J. S. Bach

The Organ Music of J. S. Bach

2nd Edition


  • Date Published: December 2003
  • availability: Available
  • format: Paperback
  • isbn: 9780521891158

£ 47.99

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Other available formats:

Looking for an inspection copy?

This title is not currently available on inspection

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • This is a completely revised 2003 edition of volumes I and II of The Organ Music of J. S. Bach (1980), a bestselling title, which has subsequently become a classic text. This edition takes account of Bach scholarship of the 25 years prior to publication. Peter Williams's piece-by-piece commentary puts the musical sources of the organ works in context, describing the form and content of each work and relating them to other music, German and non-German. He summarises the questions about the history, authenticity, chronology, function and performance of each piece, and points out important details of style and musical quality. The study follows the order of the Bach catalogue (BWV), beginning with the sonatas, then the 'free works', followed by chorales and ending with the doubtful works, including the 'newly discovered chorales' of 1985.

    • Total revision of a best-seller
    • Covers the most admired part of the organ repertory
    • Provides valuable insights into the working of one of music's greatest minds
    Read more

    Reviews & endorsements

    On the first edition: '… obligatory for anyone concerned with the core of the organ repertory … Dr Williams's writing has a rare vigour and confidence; its sheer authority makes for compelling reading.' Stanley Sadie, Gramophone

    '… is, without doubt, the most important text on the master's organ music.' Classical Music

    ' … there is no denying the stimulating nature of the content … you will find much to stimulate, provoke, invigorate … that is good scholarship.' Early Music Today

    'The original publication was always stimulating to consult and highly thought-provoking, and it is pleasing that the author has retained this engaging - and sometimes quite challenging - approach. A remarkable achievement.' The Consort

    See more reviews

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Edition: 2nd Edition
    • Date Published: December 2003
    • format: Paperback
    • isbn: 9780521891158
    • length: 638 pages
    • dimensions: 243 x 172 x 32 mm
    • weight: 1.03kg
    • contains: 297 music examples
    • availability: Available
  • Table of Contents

    Fugue in G Minor, BWV 131a
    Six Sonatas, BWV 525-530
    Preludes and Fugues (Praeludia), BWV 531-552
    Eight Short Preludes and Fugues, BWV 553-560
    Miscellaneous Pieces, BWV 561-591
    Concertos, BWV 592-596
    Orgelbüchlein, BWV 599-644
    Schübler Chorales, BWV 645-650
    Chorales formerly called 'The Eighteen', BWV 651-668
    Chorales from Clavierübung III, BWV 669-689
    Chorales formerly called 'The Kirnsberger Collection', BWV 690-713
    Miscellaneous Chorales, BWV 714-765
    Chorale Variations (Partitas), BWV 766-771
    Four Duets from Clavierübung III, BWV 802-805
    Chorales now called 'The Neumeister Collection', BWV 1090-1120
    Further works, in part uncertain of origin

  • Author

    Peter Williams
    Peter Williams (1937–2016) was an internationally renowned Bach scholar and performer. He was Professor of Performance Practice and the first Director of the Russell Collection of Harpsichords at the University of Edinburgh, Arts and Sciences Distinguished Professor at Duke University, North Carolina, and John Bird Professor at the University of Wales, Cardiff. He wrote numerous books on the organ, organ history and organ repertoire. The first edition of The Organ Music of J. S. Bach was published in 1980 (Volumes 1 and 2) and 1984 (Volume 3).

Sign In

Please sign in to access your account


Not already registered? Create an account now. ×

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.