Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist
Look Inside Ligeti, Kurtág, and Hungarian Music during the Cold War

Ligeti, Kurtág, and Hungarian Music during the Cold War


Part of Music in the Twentieth Century

  • Date Published: September 2007
  • availability: Available
  • format: Hardback
  • isbn: 9780521827331

£ 77.00

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Other available formats:

Looking for an inspection copy?

This title is not currently available on inspection

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • Drawing on key elements from musical thought in inter-war Hungary, this 2007 book provides a unique perspective on the nation's musical heritage both inside and outside Hungary's borders during the Cold War. Although Ligeti became part of the Western avant-garde after he left Hungary in 1956, archival sources illuminate his ongoing contact with Hungarian musicians, and their shifting perspective on his work. Kurtág's music was more obviously involved with Hungarian traditions, was entangled with the Soviet occupation, and was a contributing part of the city's diverse musical culture. However, from the mid-1960s onwards, critics identified his music as an artistic and moral 'truth' distinct from the broader musical life of Budapest: it was an idealized symbol of life beyond the everyday in Hungary. Grounding her interpretations of works in these complex political circumstances, Beckles Willson is nonetheless sympathetic to arguments by Ligeti, Kurtág and Budapest music critics that their music might have a life beyond nationalist and Cold War ideology.

    • Provides the first account of music in Hungary during the Cold War
    • Places the work of the internationally known and influential composers Ligeti and Kurtág within the context of the Cold War and Hungarian nationalist politics
    • Includes an informative Personalia section of important figures
    Read more

    Reviews & endorsements

    Review of the hardback: 'In Beckles Willson's hands this whole scene comes to life and takes shape. … As for the musical discussions and evaluations, these, too, are often stimulating …' The Slavonic and East European Review

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Date Published: September 2007
    • format: Hardback
    • isbn: 9780521827331
    • length: 302 pages
    • dimensions: 254 x 178 x 17 mm
    • weight: 0.74kg
    • availability: Available
  • Table of Contents

    Part I:
    1. After 1920: on land, language and music
    2. After 1945: a new empire forms
    Part II:
    3. After 1956: parted ways
    4. After 1968: Budapest, Kurtág, events
    5. After the west: Ligeti looks back
    6. After Budapest: out of Hungary?
    Epilogue: on 'Hungary', and (our) longing for Moscow

  • Author

    Rachel Beckles Willson, Royal Holloway, University of London

Sign In

Please sign in to access your account


Not already registered? Create an account now. ×

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.