Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist
Look Inside A History of the Australasian Colonies

A History of the Australasian Colonies
From their Foundation to the Year 1911


  • Date Published: August 2012
  • availability: Available
  • format: Paperback
  • isbn: 9780521238588

£ 23.99

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Looking for an inspection copy?

This title is not currently available on inspection

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • Published in 1912 as part of the Cambridge Historical Series, this is the third edition of The History of the Australasian Colonies. Created with the general reader in mind, it provides a concise, yet rigorous, analysis of historical developments in Australasia and contextualises these developments in terms of the later political situation at the beginning of the twentieth century. Whilst the narrative is undoubtedly redolent of the colonial period, it retains a high documentary value in revealing the attitudes of the time in which it was written. The text of the this edition was considerably revised from the 1895 original, and events are detailed up to the year 1911, thus encompassing the movement towards federation in Australia. This is a fascinating book that will be of value to anyone with an interest in the colonial period, Australasian history, and historiography.

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Date Published: August 2012
    • format: Paperback
    • isbn: 9780521238588
    • length: 400 pages
    • dimensions: 203 x 127 x 23 mm
    • weight: 0.43kg
    • availability: Available
  • Table of Contents

    Part I. Discoveries in the South Seas
    Part II. The Founding of New South Wales
    Part III. Development of New South Wales
    Part IV. The Daughter Colonies of New South Wales:
    1. Tasmania (Van Diemen's Land)
    Part V. The Daughter Colonies of New South Wales (Continued):
    2. Victoria (Port Phillip)
    3. Queensland (Moreton Bay District)
    Part VI. Western Australia and South Australia
    Part VII. The Government of the Australian Colonies to 1851
    Part VIII. The Founding of New Zealand
    Part IX. Development of New Zealand
    Part X. The Discovery of Gold
    Part XI. Responsible Government and Modern Constitutions
    Part XII. Internal Exploration in Australia
    Part XIII. Maori Wars in New Zealand
    Part XIV. Federation in Australia
    Part XV. Present-Day Topics
    List of maps.

  • Author

    Edward Jenks

Sign In

Please sign in to access your account


Not already registered? Create an account now. ×

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.