Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist

Opera in Postwar Venice
Cultural Politics and the Avant-Garde


Part of Cambridge Studies in Opera

  • Date Published: September 2018
  • availability: In stock
  • format: Hardback
  • isbn: 9781107169272

£ 75.00

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Other available formats:

Looking for an inspection copy?

This title is not currently available on inspection

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • Beginning from the unlikely vantage point of Venice in the aftermath of fascism and World War II, this book explores operatic production in the city's nascent postwar culture as a lens onto the relationship between opera and politics in the twentieth century. Both opera and Venice in the middle of the century are often talked about in strikingly similar terms: as museums locked in the past and blind to the future. These clichés are here overturned: perceptions of crisis were in fact remarkably productive for opera, and despite being physically locked in the past, Venice was undergoing a flourishing of avant-garde activity. Focusing on a local musical culture, Harriet Boyd-Bennett recasts some of the major composers, works, stylistic categories and narratives of twentieth-century music. The study provides fresh understandings of works by composers as diverse as Stravinsky, Prokofiev, Verdi, Britten and Nono.

    • Connects music and music culture directly to the most pressing social and cultural concerns of the postwar period
    • Provides a fresh perspective to very well-known repertoire
    • Brings to light previously overlooked repertoire, and previously unseen archival material
    Read more

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Date Published: September 2018
    • format: Hardback
    • isbn: 9781107169272
    • length: 240 pages
    • dimensions: 253 x 179 x 17 mm
    • weight: 0.68kg
    • contains: 8 b/w illus. 8 music examples
    • availability: In stock
  • Table of Contents

    List of figures and music examples
    Note on translations
    1. Stravinsky's timely excavations, 1951
    2. A Futura Memoria: Verdi's Attila, 1951
    3. Spectral opera: Britten's The Turn of the Screw, 1954
    4. Magic and realism in Prokofiev's The Fiery Angel, 1955
    5. Open works/staging crisis, 1959
    6. Noisy echoes in Luigi Nono's Intolleranza 1960, 1961

  • Author

    Harriet Boyd-Bennett, University of Nottingham
    Harriet Boyd-Bennett is Assistant Professor at the University of Nottingham. Prior to this she was Leverhulme Early Career Fellow at Nottingham and Junior Research Fellow at Christ Church, Oxford. She has published widely on music, culture and politics in Italy, modern opera performance and the musical avant-garde.

Sign In

Please sign in to access your account


Not already registered? Create an account now. ×

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.