Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist

Luigi Nono
A Composer in Context


Part of Music since 1900

  • Date Published: January 2016
  • availability: Available
  • format: Hardback
  • isbn: 9780521845342

£ 106.00

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Other available formats:

Looking for an inspection copy?

This title is not currently available on inspection

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • The anti-fascist cantata Il canto sospeso, the string quartet Fragmente - Stille, an Diotima and the 'Tragedy of Listening' Prometeo cemented Luigi Nono's place in music history. In this study, Carola Nielinger-Vakil examines these major works in the context of Nono's amalgamation of avant-garde composition with Communist political engagement. Part I discusses Il canto sospeso in the context of all of Nono's anti-fascist pieces, from the unfinished Fučik project (1951) to Ricorda cosa ti hanno fatto in Auschwitz (1966). Nielinger-Vakil explores Nono's position at the Darmstadt Music Courses, the evolution of his compositional technique, his penchant for music theatre and his use of spatial and electronic techniques to set the composer and his works against the diverging circumstances in Italy and Germany after 1945. Part II further examines these concerns and shows how they live on in Nono's work after 1975, culminating in a thorough analysis of Prometeo.

    • Offers detailed musical analysis of selected works along with their historical, political and philosophical context
    • Examines original sketch material by the composer to provide unique insights into his compositional techniques
    • Explains Nono's use of live electronics, which is essential for an understanding of the spatial dramaturgy of Prometeo
    Read more

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Date Published: January 2016
    • format: Hardback
    • isbn: 9780521845342
    • length: 364 pages
    • dimensions: 254 x 160 x 20 mm
    • weight: 0.88kg
    • contains: 20 b/w illus. 18 tables 31 music examples
    • availability: Available
  • Table of Contents

    Preface and acknowledgements
    Part I. Music and Memory:
    1. Political and musical premises
    2. Il canto sospeso (1955–6)
    3. Towards spatial composition
    4. Music to Die Ermittlung by Peter Weiss (1965)
    Part II. Music as Memory:
    5. Towards other shores
    6. Fragmente - Stille, an Diotima (1979–80)
    7. Prometeo. Tragedia dell'ascolto (1975–85).

  • Author

    Carola Nielinger-Vakil
    Carola Nielinger-Vakil is a freelance flautist and musicologist based in London. She has published widely on the music of Luigi Nono. In collaboration with Martin Brady, she has also written on film music by Paul Dessau.

Sign In

Please sign in to access your account


Not already registered? Create an account now. ×

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.