Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist

Harmony in Haydn and Mozart


  • Date Published: June 2014
  • availability: Available
  • format: Paperback
  • isbn: 9781107419841

£ 32.99

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Other available formats:
Hardback, eBook

Looking for an inspection copy?

This title is not currently available on inspection

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • Integrating Schenkerian tools and an innovative approach to harmony, David Damschroder provides numerous penetrating analyses of works by Haydn and Mozart. A series of introductory chapters assist readers in developing their analytical capacity. Beginning with short excerpts from string quartets, the study proceeds by assessing the inner workings of twelve expositions from Haydn piano sonatas, six arias in G minor from Mozart operas, and three rondos in D major from piano concertos by Haydn and Mozart. In the Masterworks section that follows, Damschroder presents detailed analyses of six movements from symphonies, string quartets and opera by Haydn and Mozart, and compares his outcomes with those of other analysts, including Kofi Agawu, Robert O. Gjerdingen, James Hepokoski and Warren Darcy, Carl Schachter and James Webster. The book represents an important contribution to modern analytical discourse on a treasured body of music and an assessment of recent accomplishments within that realm.

    • Employs innovative analytical practice, presenting a distinctive synthesis of and expansion upon existing analytical procedures
    • Provides a clearly focused study on a consistent and important body of music from one style period
    • Offers careful comparisons with alternative analytical strategies, showing how other perspectives have dealt with similar issues
    Read more

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Date Published: June 2014
    • format: Paperback
    • isbn: 9781107419841
    • length: 312 pages
    • dimensions: 244 x 170 x 17 mm
    • weight: 0.5kg
    • contains: 150 music examples
    • availability: Available
  • Table of Contents

    Part I. Methodological Orientation:
    1. Harmonic practice in the late eighteenth century: twelve excerpts from string quartets by Haydn and Mozart
    2. Anatomy of the I–II#–V two-part exposition: twelve keyboard sonatas by Haydn
    3. Composition in a minor key: six arias in G minor from operas by Mozart
    4. The happy ending: three sonata-rondos in D major from piano concertos by Haydn and Mozart
    Part II. Masterpieces:
    5. Haydn: Symphony No. 45 in F# Minor ('Farewell'), movement 2: in response to James Webster
    6. Haydn: String Quartet in G Minor (op. 20, no. 3), movement 3: in response to Robert O. Gjerdingen
    7. Mozart: String Quintet in C Major (K. 515), movement 1: in response to Kofi Agawu and Michael Spitzer
    8. Mozart: Don Giovanni (K. 527), Act I, Scene 13: Donna Anna's Recitative and Aria: in response to Carl Schachter
    9. Mozart: Symphony in G Minor (K. 550), movement 3, Trio: in response to Leonard B. Meyer
    10. Haydn: Symphony No. 96 in D Major ('Miracle'), movement 1: in response to Warren Darcy, James Hepokoski and Lauri Suurpää
    Select bibliography
    Index of works by Haydn and by Mozart
    Index of names and concepts.

  • Author

    David Damschroder, University of Minnesota
    David Damschroder is Professor of Music Theory at the University of Minnesota. His current research focuses on harmony in tonal music, a project that began with a careful examination of historical analytical practices, the basis for his Thinking about Harmony: Historical Perspectives on Analysis (Cambridge University Press, 2008). The project continues with focused studies on selected repertoires: Harmony in Schubert (Cambridge University Press, 2010) and the present volume. Damschroder is the author of Music Theory from Zarlino to Schenker (1990) and his articles and reviews have appeared in many publications including Music Theory Spectrum, The Journal of Music Theory and Music Theory Online.

Sign In

Please sign in to access your account


Not already registered? Create an account now. ×

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.