Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist
Look Inside Hans von Bülow

Hans von Bülow
A Life for Music


  • Date Published: July 2011
  • availability: Available
  • format: Hardback
  • isbn: 9781107005860

£ 108.00

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Looking for an inspection copy?

This title is not currently available on inspection

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • Drawing upon an extensive selection of rare letters, reviews and memoirs, Kenneth Birkin sets Hans von Bülow's work as a recitalist, chamber-music artist and orchestral conductor at the centre of a disturbed and eventful life. Bülow's Zukunftsmusik advocacy and ruthless criticism of performance standards in Berlin and Munich antagonised a musical 'establishment' nonetheless spellbound by his keyboard and orchestral mastery. Birkin pays particular attention to the Tristan and Meistersinger premieres, Cosima's desertion, the European and American tours and operatic activities in Hamburg and Hanover, as well as Bülow's pedagogic activities and forays into musical journalism. The book makes liberal use of Bülow's correspondence, published and unpublished, which personalises the narrative. Contemporary comments and reviews, translated here for the first time, give the reader an insight into the critical and public reaction. An extensive Appendix records the dates and venues of all Bülow's public appearances, both as pianist and conductor.

    • Includes an extensive appendix which chronicles von Bülow's career by listing all his public appearances, both as pianist and conductor - this provides a unique and valuable summary of public taste, reception and changing trends over almost half a century
    • Contains many quotations from Bülow's own letters which give a fascinating 'inside' view of events
    • The book avoids technical jargon, is written in a 'user-friendly' way and chapters are clearly organised in chronological order for ease of use
    Read more

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Date Published: July 2011
    • format: Hardback
    • isbn: 9781107005860
    • length: 736 pages
    • dimensions: 236 x 160 x 38 mm
    • weight: 1.28kg
    • contains: 20 b/w illus.
    • availability: Available
  • Table of Contents

    1. Overture: Dresden, Leipzig, Stuttgart (1830–1848)
    2. The student years: Leipzig, Berlin (1848–1850)
    3. Decision time: Weimar-Zürich (1850–1851)
    4. Weimar apprenticeship (1851–1853)
    5. The young virtuoso: Austro-Hungary (1853–1854)
    6. Polish interlude (1854–1855)
    7. The pedagogue: Berlin I (1855–1857)
    8. 'Gallant hotspur': Berlin II (1857–1859)
    9. Rebel maturity: Berlin III (1859–1864)
    10. The Wagner years: Munich (1864–1869)
    11. A new start: Florence (1869–1873)
    12. Triumph and betrayal - on tour: England and Russia (1873–1875)
    13. Transatlantic adventure (1875–1876)
    14. Convalescent interlude (June 1876–September 1877)
    15. Bülow redux: Hanover, Glasgow (1877–1878)
    16. Kapellmeister in Hanover (1877–1879)
    17. Intendant in Meiningen (1880–1885)
    18. The Philharmonic years I (1886–1889) Hamburg/Bremen/Berlin
    19. The Philharmonic years II (1889–1890) America again/domestic crisis
    20. The Philharmonic years III (1890–1892) Hamburg/Berlin
    21. The Philharmonic years IV (1892–1894): Finale
    Afterword: Bülow and Bayreuth
    Appendix: Bülow performance chronology
    Select bibliography.

  • Author

    Kenneth Birkin
    Kenneth Birkin is an internationally recognised Richard Strauss scholar, and is the author of Friedenberg and Daphne (1989), Arabella (1989) and British Music: Elgar and After (1997), and the editor of Stefan Zweig – Joseph Gregor Correspondence 1921–1938 (1991). His work has appeared in many journals including Music and Letters, Opera Magazine, The Musical Times and Tempo. He has written and presented programmes for BBC Radio 3 and is the librettist of British composer John Joubert's three-act opera Jane Eyre.

Sign In

Please sign in to access your account


Not already registered? Create an account now. ×

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.