Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist
Mendelssohn, Time and Memory

Mendelssohn, Time and Memory
The Romantic Conception of Cyclic Form


  • Date Published: October 2011
  • availability: In stock
  • format: Hardback
  • isbn: 9781107005785

£ 72.99

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Other available formats:

Looking for an inspection copy?

This title is not currently available on inspection

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • Felix Mendelssohn has long been viewed as one of the most historically minded composers in western music. This book explores the conceptions of time, memory and history found in his instrumental compositions, presenting an intriguing new perspective on his ever-popular music. Focusing on Mendelssohn's innovative development of cyclic form, Taylor investigates how the composer was influenced by the aesthetic and philosophical movements of the period. This is of key importance not only for reconsideration of Mendelssohn's work and its position in nineteenth-century culture, but also more generally concerning the relationship between music, time and subjectivity. One of very few detailed accounts of Mendelssohn's music, the study presents a new and provocative reading of the meaning of the composer's work by connecting it to wider cultural and philosophical ideas.

    • Presents the most extended consideration of cyclic form yet, allowing full consideration of this important nineteenth-century idea
    • Considers music in relation to notions of subjectivity, time, history and memory, providing a significant contribution towards the current interest in these topics
    • Connects Mendelssohn's music to wider cultural and philosophical ideas
    Read more

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Date Published: October 2011
    • format: Hardback
    • isbn: 9781107005785
    • length: 312 pages
    • dimensions: 254 x 180 x 20 mm
    • weight: 0.79kg
    • contains: 12 b/w illus. 6 tables 88 music examples
    • availability: In stock
  • Table of Contents

    1. The idea of cyclic form
    2. Musical history and self-consciousness: the Octet, Op. 20
    3. Returning home: the E major Piano Sonata, Op. 6
    4. In search of lost time: the A minor Quartet, Op. 13
    5. Overcoming the past: the E flat Quartet, Op. 12
    6. Cyclicism in Mendelssohn's mature music.

  • Author

    Benedict Taylor, University of Edinburgh
    Benedict Taylor is Mellon Postdoctoral Fellow in Music Theory at the Faculty of Music, University of Oxford, Senior Research Fellow of New College and Lecturer in Music at Magdalen College.

Sign In

Please sign in to access your account


Not already registered? Create an account now. ×

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.