Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist
Look Inside Annals of a Publishing House

Annals of a Publishing House

Volume 1. William Blackwood and his Sons, their Magazine and Friends


Part of Cambridge Library Collection - History of Printing, Publishing and Libraries

  • Date Published: November 2010
  • availability: Available
  • format: Paperback
  • isbn: 9781108021395

£ 35.99

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Looking for an inspection copy?

This title is not currently available on inspection

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • Margaret Oliphant (1828–1897) is best known as the author of nearly one hundred novels, but also wrote short stories and biographies. Closely connected with Blackwoods of Edinburgh from 1851, shortly before her death she was commissioned to write a history of the publishing firm by director William Blackwood, grandson of the founder. From small beginnings, the firm had rapidly become the leading Scottish publishing house, dominating the literary world, particularly through Blackwood's Edinburgh Magazine and an impressive list of famous authors. These included Thomas de Quincey, Walter Scott, and Samuel Taylor Coleridge. The Magazine introduced the convention of having novels issued in serial form before publication as a book, which became standard practice for authors such as Dickens, Thackeray and Eliot. Volume 1 covers the early career of William Blackwood and the establishment of the firm, its commercial relationships, and the foundation of the Magazine.

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Date Published: November 2010
    • format: Paperback
    • isbn: 9781108021395
    • length: 544 pages
    • dimensions: 216 x 140 x 31 mm
    • weight: 0.68kg
    • contains: 1 b/w illus.
    • availability: Available
  • Table of Contents

    1. William Blackwood
    2. The tales of my landlord
    3. The magazine
    4. The world turned upside down
    5. John Gibson Lockhart
    6. Christopher North
    7. The Ettrick shepherd
    8. William Maginn
    9. Coleridge - De Quincey
    10. John Galt - John Wilson Croker
    11. Other contributors.

  • Author

    Margaret Oliphant

Sign In

Please sign in to access your account


Not already registered? Create an account now. ×

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.