Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist
Beethoven's Letters (1790–1826)

Beethoven's Letters (1790–1826)
From the Collection of Dr Ludwig Nohl
2 Volume Set


Part of Cambridge Library Collection - Music

  • Date Published: November 2014
  • availability: Available
  • format: Multiple copy pack
  • isbn: 9781108078504

£ 38.99
Multiple copy pack

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Looking for an inspection copy?

This title is not currently available on inspection

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770–1827) was a prolific letter writer, with thousands of examples surviving to this day. Often written in great haste - 'in der Eile' was a common sign-off - they allow us to follow the great composer's anxieties and preoccupations, revealing the human figure behind some of the greatest music ever written. Despite the fact that 'many of Beethoven's letters slumber in foreign lands, especially in the unapproachable cabinets of curiosities belonging to various close-fisted English collectors', the German musicologist Ludwig Nohl (1831–85) published his collection of letters in 1865, and this two-volume English translation by Grace Jane Wallace (1804–78) appeared the following year, reflecting the fact that interest in Beethoven had not diminished nearly forty years after his death. Volume 1 includes the still poignant 'Heiligenstadt Testament'. In Volume 2 we read of Beethoven's efforts to fulfil the commission for his greatest masterpiece, the Ninth Symphony.

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Date Published: November 2014
    • format: Multiple copy pack
    • isbn: 9781108078504
    • length: 556 pages
    • dimensions: 217 x 142 x 34 mm
    • weight: 0.7kg
    • contains: 2 b/w illus.
    • availability: Available
  • Table of Contents

    Volume 1: Preface
    Part I. Life's Joys and Sorrows:
    1. Letters, 1783–1815
    Part II. Life's Mission:
    2. Letters, 1815–22. Volume 2: Part II. Life's Mission:
    3. Letters, 1815–22 (cont.)
    Part III. Life's Troubles and Close:
    4. Letters, 1823–7.

  • Author

    Ludwig van Beethoven

    Editor and Translator

    Grace Jane Wallace

Sign In

Please sign in to access your account


Not already registered? Create an account now. ×

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.