Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist
Clara Schumann

Clara Schumann
An Artist's Life, Based on Material Found in Diaries and Letters
2 Volume Set


Part of Cambridge Library Collection - Music

  • Date Published: September 2013
  • availability: Available
  • format: Multiple copy pack
  • isbn: 9781108064170

£ 62.00
Multiple copy pack

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Looking for an inspection copy?

This title is not currently available on inspection

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • Clara Schumann (1819–1896), child prodigy, celebrated concert pianist, composer, and friend of Brahms, was also the wife of composer Robert Schumann. Her father Friedrich Wieck's implacable opposition to their marriage, the sublime music she inspired in Schumann and his tragic death at a cruelly young age underlie one of music's great romances. The German literary historian Berthold Litzmann (1857–1926) first published his biography in three volumes between 1902 and 1908, based on the diaries and letters of Robert and Clara Schumann. Appearing in 1913, this two-volume English translation by Grace Hadow (1875–1940) is an abridged version of the German fourth edition, offering a lucid portrait of a central figure in nineteenth-century European musical life. A preface is provided by the translator's elder brother, William Henry Hadow (1859–1937), the music historian. Volume 1 covers the years 1819 to 1850. Volume 2 covers the years 1850 to 1896.

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Date Published: September 2013
    • format: Multiple copy pack
    • isbn: 9781108064170
    • length: 1018 pages
    • dimensions: 231 x 155 x 61 mm
    • weight: 1.48kg
    • contains: 5 b/w illus.
    • availability: Available
  • Table of Contents

    Volume 1: Translator's preface
    Author's preface
    1. Childhood 1819–34
    2. Hoarfrost 1834–5
    3. Lost and found 1836–7
    4. Youthful fame 1837–8
    5. Hopes and projects 1838–9
    6. In foreign lands 1839–40
    7. Final struggles 1839–40
    8. April showers and sunshine 1840–4
    9. Silent growth 1844–50
    Index. Volume 2: Author's preface to vol. 2
    1. Autumn tints 1850–4
    2. Night 1854
    3. The last echo 1854–6
    4. Wanderjahre 1856–63
    5. 14 Lichtenthaler Allee, Baden-Baden 1863–73
    6. 11 in den Zelten, Berlin, 1873–8
    7. 32 Myliusstrasse, Frankfort, 1878–96
    List of compositions
    Works studied and repertoire

  • Author

    Berthold Litzmann


    Grace E. Hadow

    Preface by

    W. H. Hadow

Sign In

Please sign in to access your account


Not already registered? Create an account now. ×

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.