Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist

The Cambridge Companion to Robert Frost

£56.00

Part of Cambridge Companions to Literature

Donald Sheehy, William Pritchard, Robert Faggen, Helen Bacon, Lawrence Buell, Timothy Steele, Judith Oster, Blanford Parker, Mark Richardson, George Monteiro, Guy Rotella, John Cunningham
View all contributors
  • Date Published: June 2001
  • availability: Available
  • format: Hardback
  • isbn: 9780521632485

£ 56.00
Hardback

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Other available formats:
Paperback, eBook


Looking for an inspection copy?

This title is not currently available on inspection

Description
Product filter button
Description
Contents
Resources
Courses
About the Authors
  • This collection of specially-commissioned essays by experts in the field explores key dimensions of Robert Frost's poetry and life. Frost remains one of the most memorable and beguiling of modern poets. Writing in the tradition of Virgil, Milton, and Wordsworth, he transformed pastoral and georgic poetry both in subject matter and form. Mastering the rhythms of ordinary speech, Frost made country life the point from which to view the world and the complexities of human psychology. The essays in this volume enable readers to explore Frost's art and thought, from the controversies of his biography to his subtle reinvention of poetic and metric traditions and the conflicts in his thought about politics, gender, science and religion. This volume will bring fresh perspectives to the lyric, narrative and dramatic poetry of an American master, and its chronology and guide to further reading will prove valuable to scholars and students alike.

    • International team of scholars provide an introduction to the whole of Frost's life and work
    • Contains chronological guide to Frost's work and extensive bibliography
    • This is the only guide of its kind on Frost currently in print
    Read more

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity

    ×

    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?

    ×

    Product details

    • Date Published: June 2001
    • format: Hardback
    • isbn: 9780521632485
    • length: 304 pages
    • dimensions: 229 x 152 x 17 mm
    • weight: 0.58kg
    • availability: Available
  • Table of Contents

    1. The lives of Robert Frost Donald Sheehy
    2. Biography and the poetry of Robert Frost William Pritchard
    3. Frost and the question of pastoral Robert Faggen
    4. Frost and the ancient muses Helen Bacon
    5. Frost as a New England poet Lawrence Buell
    6. Meter and versification Timothy Steele
    7. Frost and metaphor Judith Oster
    8. Frost and the meditative lyric Blanford Parker
    9. Frost and poetic choice Mark Richardson
    10. Frost's politics George Monteiro
    11. Frost and economics Guy Rotella
    12. Human presence in Frost's poetry John Cunningham.

  • Instructors have used or reviewed this title for the following courses

    • Writing for English Majors
  • Editor

    Robert Faggen, Claremont McKenna College, California

    Contributors

    Donald Sheehy, William Pritchard, Robert Faggen, Helen Bacon, Lawrence Buell, Timothy Steele, Judith Oster, Blanford Parker, Mark Richardson, George Monteiro, Guy Rotella, John Cunningham

Sign In

Please sign in to access your account

Cancel

Not already registered? Create an account now. ×

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email lecturers@cambridge.org

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner www.ebooks.com. Please see the permission section of the www.ebooks.com catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.

Cancel

Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

×
Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.
×