Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist
Look Inside Alfred, Lord Tennyson

Alfred, Lord Tennyson
An Anthology


  • Date Published: December 2013
  • availability: Available
  • format: Paperback
  • isbn: 9781107682832

£ 20.99

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Looking for an inspection copy?

This title is not currently available on inspection

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • Frank Laurence Lucas (1894–1967) was a renowned English author, poet and classicist, often remembered for his polemical attacks on key modernist figures such as T. S. Eliot, as well as his meticulous scholarship in the production of texts such as the four-volume Complete Works of John Webster. First published in 1932, this book contains a selection of Tennyson's poetry edited by Lucas. A detailed editorial introduction is also included. This book will be of value to anyone with an interest in Tennyson and Lucas.

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Date Published: December 2013
    • format: Paperback
    • isbn: 9781107682832
    • length: 238 pages
    • dimensions: 203 x 127 x 14 mm
    • weight: 0.26kg
    • availability: Available
  • Table of Contents

    Prefatory note
    The devil and the lady
    Supposed confessions of a second-rate sensitive mind
    To -
    Ode to memory
    A character
    The dying swan
    A dirge
    Milton's mulberry
    The lady of Shalott
    The two voices
    The miller's daughter
    The palace of art
    The May queen
    The lotos-eaters
    A dream of fair women
    To J. S.
    On a mourner
    'Love thou thy land'
    The lover's tale
    Morte d'Arthur
    The gardener's daughter
    Love and duty
    Sir Launcelot and Queen Guinevere
    A farewell
    The eagle
    'Come not, when I am dead'
    The vision of sin
    To E. L. on his travels in Greece
    'Break, break, break...'
    The princess, a medley
    In memoriam A. H. H.
    Maud, a monodrama
    The daisy
    To the Rev. F. D. Maurice
    In the valley of Cauteretz
    In the garden at Swainston
    'Flower in the crannied wall'
    Specimen of a translation of the Iliad in blank verse
    Enoch Arden
    Aylmer's field
    Idylls of the King: The coming of Arthur
    Gareth and Lynette
    Geraint and Enid
    Merlin and Vivien
    Lancelot and Elaine
    The holy grail
    Pelleas and Ettarre
    The last tournament
    The passing of Arthur
    The revenge
    The voyage of Maeldune
    Locksley Hall sixty years after
    To Virgul
    'Frater ave atque vale'
    The progress of spring
    Merlin and the gleam
    June bracken and heather
    St Telemachus
    Crossing the bar.

  • Author

    Alfred Tennyson


    F. L. Lucas

Sign In

Please sign in to access your account


Not already registered? Create an account now. ×

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.