Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist
Chronicon Henrici Knighton vel Cnitthon, Monachi Leycestrensis

Chronicon Henrici Knighton vel Cnitthon, Monachi Leycestrensis
2 Volume Set


Part of Cambridge Library Collection - Rolls

  • Date Published: November 2012
  • availability: Available
  • format: Multiple copy pack
  • isbn: 9781108053563

$ 103.00
Multiple copy pack

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Looking for an inspection copy?

This title is not currently available for inspection. However, if you are interested in the title for your course we can consider offering an inspection copy. To register your interest please contact providing details of the course you are teaching.

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • This two-volume work was published as part of the Rolls Series between 1889 and 1895. A history of England, it deals principally with the period from 1066 until the death of author Henry Knighton around 1396. An introductory section of material largely drawn from Ranulf Higden adds what Knighton describes as necessary context to the recounting of the Norman Conquest. Volume 1 covers the period up to 1336, culminating in the murder of Edward II. Volume 2 begins in 1337 at the start of the Hundred Years' War and closes in a time of comparative peace under the rule of Richard II. As editor, Joseph Rawson Lumby (1831–95) has been criticised for oversights, errors and omissions. Nevertheless, his detailed contents and marginalia make the Latin text more accessible to the modern reader.

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Date Published: November 2012
    • format: Multiple copy pack
    • isbn: 9781108053563
    • dimensions: 229 x 152 mm
    • weight: 1.53kg
    • availability: Available
  • Table of Contents

    Volume 1. Introduction
    Book I
    1. The records of Leicester abbey
    2. King Ethelred and his evil times
    3. Canute made king
    4. Higden's account of Robert, duke of Normandy
    5. Grounds of Canute's claim to the throne of England
    6. Reigns of Harold Harefoot and of Hardecanute
    7. Higden's account of Pope Gregory VI
    8. Higden's narrative of the accession and reign of Edward the Confessor
    9. Foundation of the abbey of Bec
    10. Notices of Edward's treatment of Earl Godwin
    11. Higden's notice of Godwin's death
    12. Extracts from Higden
    13. Extracts from Higden (cont.)
    14. Extracts from Higden (cont.)
    15. Higden's notice of of the sickness and death of the Confessor
    16. Harold crowned king
    Book II:
    1. Normans land at Pevensey bay and at Sandwich
    2. Voice heard by William in the night
    3. War between William I and Malcolm of Scotland
    4. Extracts from Higden continued
    5. Higden's account of the accession of William Rufus
    6. Mainly on the ecclesiastical history of England at this time
    7. Story about one who prayed for the dead
    8. Henry made king of England
    9. Victory of Henry I over the king of France
    10. Continuing the history down to Stephen's death
    11. Of St Patrick the younger and his preaching
    12. Knighton's notices of the family of Henry II
    13. History of Richard I
    14. The story of how Richard gained the name of Cor Leonis
    15. King John's confiscation of church property
    16. Battle of Lincoln
    Book III:
    1. English and Welsh history from 1272 to 1285
    2. English, Scotch, and Welsh history to 1294
    3. The Scotch rebellion and its suppression
    4. Letter of King Edward to Pope Boniface
    5. Conflict between the king and the clergy
    6. War between France and England
    7. Exactions of King Edward from the clergy
    8. Answer to the cardinals
    9. Edward's resolve to cross into Flanders
    10. Events of the Scotch war
    11. English border skirmishing
    12. The English preparations for invading Scotland
    13. Peace between France and England
    14. English affairs between 1307 and 1321
    15. English events down to the deposition of Edward II
    16. Affairs of England and Scotland down to 1335. Volume 2. Errata
    Book IV:

  • Author

    Henry Knighton


    Joseph Rawson Lumby

Sign In

Please sign in to access your account


Not already registered? Create an account now. ×

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.