Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist

The Hidden Jane Austen


  • Date Published: April 2014
  • availability: Available
  • format: Paperback
  • isbn: 9781107643642

£ 18.99

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Other available formats:
Hardback, eBook

Looking for an inspection copy?

This title is not currently available on inspection

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • In this major study, leading Austen scholar John Wiltshire offers new interpretations of Jane Austen's six novels, Sense and Sensibility (1811), Pride and Prejudice (1813), Mansfield Park (1814), Emma (1816), Northanger Abbey and Persuasion (1818). Much recent criticism of Austen has concentrated on the social, historical and intellectual context of her work, but Wiltshire turns attention back to Austen's prose techniques. Arguing that each of Austen's works has its own distinct focus and underlying agenda, he shows how Austen's interest in psychology, and especially her treatment of attention and the various forms of memory, helped shape her narratives. Through a series of compelling close readings of key passages in each novel, Wiltshire underscores Austen's unique ability to penetrate the hidden inner motives and impulses of her characters, and reveals some of the secrets of her narrative art.

    • A major new work on Jane Austen by one of her most sensitive and thoughtful critics
    • Offers new interpretations of the six novels, arguing that each has its own distinct focus and agenda
    • Explores Austen's unique ability to penetrate the hidden inner motives and impulses of her characters
    Read more

    Reviews & endorsements

    '[A] finely observed study.' London Review of Books

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Date Published: April 2014
    • format: Paperback
    • isbn: 9781107643642
    • length: 204 pages
    • dimensions: 227 x 162 x 12 mm
    • weight: 0.3kg
    • availability: Available
  • Table of Contents

    1. Into the open with Catherine Morland
    2. Elinor Dashwood and concealment
    3. Elizabeth's memory and Mr Darcy's smile
    4. The religion of Aunt Norris
    5. The story of Fanny Price
    6. Emma's overhearing
    7. Anne Elliot and the ambient world

  • Author

    John Wiltshire, La Trobe University, Victoria
    John Wiltshire is Adjunct Professor at La Trobe University, Melbourne. He is author of Jane Austen and The Body: 'The Picture of Health' (Cambridge University Press, 1992) and Recreating Jane Austen (Cambridge University Press, 2001), and editor of Mansfield Park (Cambridge University Press, 2005) in The Cambridge Edition of the Works of Jane Austen.

Sign In

Please sign in to access your account


Not already registered? Create an account now. ×

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.