Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist

Foundations for a Disequilibrium Theory of the Business Cycle
Qualitative Analysis and Quantitative Assessment

$45.00 USD

J. Barkley Rosser, Jr
View all contributors
  • Date Published: November 2005
  • availability: This ISBN is for an eBook version which is distributed on our behalf by a third party.
  • format: Adobe eBook Reader
  • isbn: 9780511131509

$ 45.00 USD
Adobe eBook Reader

You will be taken to ebooks.com for this purchase
Buy eBook Add to wishlist

Other available formats:
Paperback, Hardback


Looking for an inspection copy?

This title is not currently available on inspection

Description
Product filter button
Description
Contents
Resources
Courses
About the Authors
  • Building on The Dynamics of Keynesian Monetary Growth by Chiarella and Flaschel (2000), this book is a key contribution to business cycle theory, setting out a disequilibrium approach with gradual adjustments of the key macroeconomic variables. Its analytic study of a deterministic model of economic activity, inflation and income distribution integrates elements in the tradition of Keynes, Metzler and Goodwin (KMG). After a qualitative analysis of the basic feedback mechanisms, the authors calibrate the KMG model to the stylized facts of the business cycle in the U.S. economy, and then undertake a detailed numerical investigation of the local and global dynamics generated by the model. Finally, topical issues in monetary policy are studied in small macromodels as well as for the KMG model by incorporating an estimated Taylor-type interest rate reaction function. The stability features of this enhanced model are also compared to those of the original KMG model.

    • Develops a dynamic model of the macroeconomy
    • Contains both theoretical and empirical analysis of the U.S. business cycle
    • An important contribution to business cycle theory and monetary policy studies
    Read more

    Reviews & endorsements

    Review of the hardback: 'Chiarella, Flaschel, and Franke have honed traditional stability analysis of aggregative macroeconomic models into an astonishingly penetrating critical tool. Their dispassionate and balanced study of current macroeconomic approaches throws much light on the conceptual contradictions that trouble this field, and motivate their suggested remedy, a return to a thorough disequilibrium dynamics in the tradition of Keynes, Metzler, and Goodwin. No serious student of mathematical macroeconomics working within any framework can afford to ignore this research and its implications.' Duncan K. Foley, Leo Model Professor, New School University

    Review of the hardback: 'After three diversionary decades, it is high time theorists resumed study of economic adjustments out-of-equilibrium unencumbered by assumptions appropriate for microeconomic equilibrium but invalid at the macroeconomic level. The authors of this book have met this challenge with a carefully composed dynamic analysis of aggregate demand and supply. It incorporates the ingredients of classic works of the mid twentieth century in a new synthesis that refocuses the subject on the market economy's endogenous tendency to fluctuate around a positive growth trend. It will be an essential reference for anyone who wants to understand the behavior of economic aggregates and the policy problems associated with them.' Richard Day, University of Southern California

    Review of the hardback: ' … icy-relevant approach to macroeconomic analysis decisively forward. Their careful synthesis of realistic dynamic elements and their careful analysis of the sensitivity and stability characteristics of their model in a policy context is much to be admired. In this book the Bielefeld School achieves a genuine culmination of great depth and breadth.' J. Barkley Rosser, Jr, James Madison University, from the Foreword

    See more reviews

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity

    ×

    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?

    ×

    Product details

    • Date Published: November 2005
    • format: Adobe eBook Reader
    • isbn: 9780511131509
    • availability: This ISBN is for an eBook version which is distributed on our behalf by a third party.
  • Table of Contents

    Figures
    Tables
    Notation
    Foreword J. Barkley Rosser, Jr
    Preface
    1. Competing approaches to Keynesian macrodynamics
    Part I. Textbook Approaches:
    2. AS-AD growth theory: a complete analysis of the textbook model
    3. Disequilibrium growth: the point of departure
    Part II. Analytical Framework. Theory and Evidence:
    4. The Keynes-Metzler-Goodwin model
    5. Calibration of three wage-price modules
    6. Calibration of the full KMG model
    7. Subsystems and sensitivity analysis of the KMG model
    Part III. Monetary Policy:
    8. The Taylor Rule in small macro models
    9. Incorporating the Taylor Rule into KMG
    References.

  • Authors

    Carl Chiarella, University of Technology, Sydney

    Peter Flaschel, Universität Bielefeld, Germany

    Reiner Franke, Technische Universität Wien, Austria

    Contributors

    J. Barkley Rosser, Jr

Sign In

Please sign in to access your account

Cancel

Not already registered? Create an account now. ×

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email lecturers@cambridge.org

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner www.ebooks.com. Please see the permission section of the www.ebooks.com catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.

Cancel

Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

×
Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.
×