Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist
A People's Music

A People's Music
Jazz in East Germany, 1945–1990


Part of New Studies in European History

  • Publication planned for: December 2019
  • availability: Not yet published - available from December 2019
  • format: Hardback
  • isbn: 9781108486187

£ 75.00

Pre-order Add to wishlist

Looking for an inspection copy?

This title is not currently available on inspection

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • A People's Music presents the first full history of jazz in East Germany, drawing on new and previously unexamined sources and vivid eyewitness accounts. Helma Kaldewey chronicles the experiences of jazz musicians, fans, and advocates, and charts the numerous policies state socialism issued to manage this dynamic art form. Offering a radical revision of scholarly views of jazz as a musical genre of dissent, this vivid and authoritative study marks developments in the production, performance, and reception of jazz decade by decade, from the GDR's beginning in the 1940s to its end in 1990, examining how members of the jazz scene were engaged with (and were sometimes complicit with) state officials and agencies throughout the Cold War. From postwar rebuilding, to Stalinism and partition, to détente, Ostpolitik, and glasnost, and finally to its acceptance as a national art form, Kaldewey reveals just how many lives jazz lived.

    • Tells a story that has never before been told in full, and illuminates dynamics of the cultural Cold War dynamics from the perspective of jazz
    • Illustrates how jazz was used as an ideological tool within a communist country, through firsthand accounts and declassified sources
    • Overturns the established scholarly and popular view that jazz was primarily an art form of dissent
    Read more

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Publication planned for: December 2019
    • format: Hardback
    • isbn: 9781108486187
    • dimensions: 228 x 152 mm
    • availability: Not yet published - available from December 2019
  • Table of Contents

    List of Figures
    Selected Chronology
    List of Abbreviations
    1. Jazz in Weimar and Nazi Germany, 1918–1945
    2. Jazz in the Soviet Zone, 1945–1949
    3. Jazz in the Founding Years of the GDR, 1949–1961
    4. Jazz behind the Wall, 1961–1971
    5. The Rise of New Jazz, 1971–1979
    6. “A National Treasure”: Jazz Made in the GDR, 1980-1990
    Archival Sources

  • Author

    Helma Kaldewey, Tulane University, Louisiana
    Helma Kaldewey is a musicologist, longtime teacher and researcher in the history of jazz. She has written and produced films about New Orleans' music culture in partnership with German public media.

Sign In

Please sign in to access your account


Not already registered? Create an account now. ×

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.