Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist
Look Inside Brahms 2

Brahms 2
Biographical, Documentary and Analytical Studies


Michael Musgrave, Siegfried Kross, Otto Biba, Imogen Fellinger, George S. Bozarth, Virginia Hancock, Robert Pascall, Arnold Whittall, Allen Forte, Christopher Wintle, Louise Litterick, Nigel Simeone
View all contributors
  • Date Published: June 2006
  • availability: Available
  • format: Paperback
  • isbn: 9780521027021

£ 23.99

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Other available formats:

Looking for an inspection copy?

This title is not currently available on inspection

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • This second volume of Brahms studies contains twelve contributions by leading international authorities on various music. Like the preceding volume of the same title (edited by Robert Pascall), Michael Musgrave's volume aims to provide original scholarly material on different facets of a major composer still inadequately discussed in book form and employs more precise methods of analysis and more critical approaches to materials then generally available in writings on Brahms in English. Half of the volume takes the music itself as focus, though from very different vantage points. There are two studies of a single opus (the two String Quartets Op. 51 Nos, 1 and 2), discussions of the Fourth Symphony and the motet 'Warum', and a view of Brahms's harmony. The underlying historical theme emerges more openly in an account of Brahms's interest in German Renaissance music. The remaining essays give details of the state of Brahms's unpublished compositions and arrangements at his death and the problematic disposal of his possessions (including musical ones), explore his own attitude to his historical position, and outline the reception of his music in Germany and, to begin with, in England.

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Date Published: June 2006
    • format: Paperback
    • isbn: 9780521027021
    • length: 264 pages
    • dimensions: 228 x 152 x 18 mm
    • weight: 0.403kg
    • contains: 4 b/w illus. 6 tables 76 music examples
    • availability: Available
  • Table of Contents

    List of illustrations
    1. Brahms and England Michael Musgrave
    2. The establishment of a Brahms repertoire 1980–1902 Siegfried Kross
    3. New light on the Brahms Nachlass Otto Biba
    4. Brahms's 'Way': a composer's self-view Imogen Fellinger
    5. Brahms's posthumous compositions and arrangements: editorial problems and questions of authenticity George S. Bozarth
    6. Brahms's links with German Renaissance music: a discussion of selected choral works Virginia Hancock
    7. Brahms's Missa canonica and its recomposition in his Motet 'Warum' Op. 74 No. 1 Robert Pascall
    8. The String Quartets Op. 51 No. 1 in C minor and No. 2 in A minor: a preface Michael Musgrave and Robert Pascall
    9. Two of a kind? Brahms's Op. 51 finales Arnold Whittall
    10. Motivic design and structural levels in the first movement of Brahms's String Quartet in C minor Allen Forte
    11. The 'Sceptred Pall': Brahm's progressive harmony Christopher Wintle
    12. Brahms the indecisive: notes on the first movement of the Fourth Symphony Louise Litterick
    Appendix: exhibition handlist Nigel Simeone

  • Editor

    Michael Musgrave


    Michael Musgrave, Siegfried Kross, Otto Biba, Imogen Fellinger, George S. Bozarth, Virginia Hancock, Robert Pascall, Arnold Whittall, Allen Forte, Christopher Wintle, Louise Litterick, Nigel Simeone

Sign In

Please sign in to access your account


Not already registered? Create an account now. ×

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.