Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist
Look Inside Brother Musicians

Brother Musicians
Reminiscences of Edward and Walter Bache


Part of Cambridge Library Collection - Music

  • Date Published: June 2013
  • availability: Available
  • format: Paperback
  • isbn: 9781108057523

£ 26.99

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Looking for an inspection copy?

This title is not currently available on inspection

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • Francis Edward Bache (1833–58) and his younger brother Walter (1842–88) were active during a rich period of musical life in Britain. The Philharmonic Society and Crystal Palace concerts in London, the Hallé Orchestra in Manchester, and the Birmingham and Three Choirs festivals were all well established, while celebrated composer/conductors from Berlioz to Wagner and virtuosi including violinist Joseph Joachim and pianist Anton Rubinstein were in great demand. Edward, a pupil of Sterndale Bennett, was a promising organist and composer whose potential was tragically ended by his early death from tuberculosis. Walter, a pupil of Liszt from 1862 to 1865, became a dedicated promoter of the pianist/composer's music to the British concert-going public through annual concerts that he financed. First published in 1901, this affectionate account of the brothers' lives by their sister Constance (1846–1903) includes many letters as well as lists of Edward's compositions and Liszt's orchestral works performed at Walter's concerts.

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Date Published: June 2013
    • format: Paperback
    • isbn: 9781108057523
    • length: 378 pages
    • dimensions: 216 x 140 x 21 mm
    • weight: 0.48kg
    • contains: 16 b/w illus. 21 music examples
    • availability: Available
  • Table of Contents

    Part I. Francis Edward Bache:
    1. London
    2. Leipzig
    3. England
    4. Algiers
    5. Paris, Leipzig
    6. Rome, England, the end
    Extracts from letters written by Francis Edward Bache
    Published music of Francis Edward Bache
    Part II. Walter Bache:
    1. Leipzig
    2. Leipzig
    3. Leipzig
    4. Italy
    5. Rome
    6. Rome
    7. London
    8. London
    9. London and Bayreuth
    10. London
    11. Liszt's last visit to England
    12. Bayreuth, London, the end
    Chronological table of all the orchestral works of Liszt given at Walter Bache's concerts.

  • Author

    Constance Bache

Sign In

Please sign in to access your account


Not already registered? Create an account now. ×

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.