Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist
Look Inside Life of Moscheles

Life of Moscheles
With Selections from his Diaries and Correspondence

Volume 2


Part of Cambridge Library Collection - Music

  • Date Published: October 2014
  • availability: Available
  • format: Paperback
  • isbn: 9781108077873

£ 24.99

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Looking for an inspection copy?

This title is not currently available on inspection

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • Born in Prague, pianist and composer Ignaz Moscheles (1794–1870) studied in Vienna and rapidly became a central figure in European musical life. He lived and worked in London for twenty-five years, leaving in 1846 to become principal professor of piano at the Leipzig Conservatoire at the invitation of his great friend Mendelssohn. As a pianist, he was renowned for his incisive technique rooted in the tradition of Clementi, and also much admired for his extempore performances. As a composer his output was mainly for the piano, and his studies are still in use today. First published in 1872–3, this lively biography, compiled from his diaries and letters by his wife Charlotte, records his dealings with and feelings about many great musicians of the nineteenth century. Reissued here is the 1873 English translation by Arthur Duke Coleridge, founder of the Bach Choir. Volume 2 covers 1836 to 1870, and includes a list of works.

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Date Published: October 2014
    • format: Paperback
    • isbn: 9781108077873
    • length: 338 pages
    • dimensions: 216 x 140 x 19 mm
    • weight: 0.43kg
    • contains: 5 music examples
    • availability: Available
  • Table of Contents

    1. Letters from members of the Mendelssohn family
    2. Recitals for pianoforte music
    3. Historical concerts
    4. Ferdinand David
    5. Letter to a friend
    6. The Philharmonic Society
    7. The Bunsen family
    8. Operatic arrangements
    9. New year in Austria and England
    10. Dresden
    11. Leipzig negotiations
    12. Life and society in Leipzig
    13. Commemorations of Mendelssohn
    14. Moscheles and his pupils
    15. Madame Sontag
    16. The new Erard
    17. Madame Lind-Goldschmidt
    18. Centenary of Mozart's birth
    19. Ovation to Concertmeister David
    A complete catalogue of compositions by Moscheles
    Index of names.

  • Author

    Charlotte Moscheles

    Editor and Translator

    Arthur Duke Coleridge

Sign In

Please sign in to access your account


Not already registered? Create an account now. ×

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.