Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist

Political Philosophy in the Twentieth Century
Authors and Arguments


Catherine H. Zuckert, David Fott, Tracy B. Strong, Joseph Buttigieg, Steven B. Smith, Ellis Sandoz, Walter Nicgorski, Dana R. Villa, Eric Mack, Timothy Fuller, William Galston, John M. Finnis, Paul Weithman, Michael Bacon, William Leon McBride, Alan Milchman, Alan Rosenberg, William E. Scheuerman, Arthur Madigan SJ, Ruth Abbey
View all contributors
  • Date Published: November 2011
  • availability: Available
  • format: Paperback
  • isbn: 9780521185066

£ 22.99

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Other available formats:
Hardback, eBook

Looking for an inspection copy?

This title is not currently available on inspection

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • This book demonstrates the rich diversity and depth of political philosophy in the twentieth century. Catherine H. Zuckert has compiled a collection of essays recounting the lives of political theorists, connecting each biography with the theorist's life work and explaining the significance of the contribution to modern political thought. The essays are organized to highlight the major political alternatives and approaches. Beginning with essays on John Dewey, Carl Schmitt and Antonio Gramsci, representing the three main political alternatives - liberal, fascist and communist - at mid-century, the book proceeds to consider the lives and works of émigrés such as Hannah Arendt, Eric Voegelin, and Leo Strauss, who brought a continental perspective to the United States after World War II. The second half of the collection contains essays on recent defenders of liberalism, such as Friedrich Hayek, Isaiah Berlin and John Rawls and liberalism's many critics, including Michel Foucault, Jürgen Habermas and Alasdair MacIntyre.

    • The accounts of leading political thinkers connect their arguments to their lives and circumstances
    • The collection includes a wide range of political perspectives as well as philosophical positions and approaches
    • Well-known scholars present the arguments of individual political philosophers they know and admire
    Read more

    Reviews & endorsements

    'This book provides a valuable alternative perspective on the development of contemporary political philosophy.' The Times Higher Education Supplement

    'This collection of essays provides an overview of the work and lives of eighteen thinkers who made significant contributions to the development of political philosophy in the last century...Zuckert's volume deserves a wide readership to help us acquire a better sense of the discipline's past, keeping the post-Rawlsian achievement in perspective.' Philosophy in Review

    See more reviews

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Date Published: November 2011
    • format: Paperback
    • isbn: 9780521185066
    • length: 292 pages
    • dimensions: 229 x 152 x 16 mm
    • weight: 0.4kg
    • availability: Available
  • Table of Contents

    Introduction Catherine H. Zuckert
    Part I. The Three Basic Alternatives in the Early Twentieth Century:
    1. John Dewey: philosophy as theory of education David Fott
    2. Carl Schmitt political theology and the concept of the political Tracy B. Strong
    3. Antonio Gramsci: liberation begins with critical thinking Joseph Buttigieg
    Part II. Émigré Responses to World War II:
    4. Philosophy as a way of life Steven B. Smith
    5. The philosopher's vocation: the Voegelinian paradigm Ellis Sandoz
    6. Yves R. Simon: a philosopher's quest for science and prudence Walter Nicgorski
    7. Hannah Arendt: from philosophy to politics Dana R. Villa
    Part III. The Revival of Liberal Political Philosophy:
    8. Friedrich Hayek on the nature of social order and law Eric Mack
    9. Michael Oakeshott: the philosophical skeptic in an impatient age Timothy Fuller
    10. Moral pluralism and liberal democracy: Isaiah Berlin's heterodox liberalism William Galston
    11. H. L. A. Hart: a twentieth-century Oxford political philosopher John M. Finnis
    Part IV. Critiques of Liberalism:
    12. John Rawls and the task of political philosophy Paul Weithman
    13. Richard Rorty: liberalism, irony, and social hope Michael Bacon
    14. Jean-Paul Sartre: 'in the soup' William Leon McBride
    15. Michel Foucault: an ethical politics of care of self and others Alan Milchman and Alan Rosenberg
    16. Jürgen Habermas: postwar German critical debates and the making of a theorist William E. Scheuerman
    17. Alasdair MacIntyre on political thinking and the tasks of politics Arthur Madigan, SJ
    18. Another philosopher-citizen: the political philosophy of Charles Taylor Ruth Abbey.

  • Instructors have used or reviewed this title for the following courses

    • Citizenship in the digital age
    • Modern Political Philosophy
    • Modern Political and Economic Ideas
    • Shaping the Modern World
  • Editor

    Catherine H. Zuckert, University of Notre Dame, Indiana
    Catherine H. Zuckert is currently a Professor of Political Science as well as the editor-in-chief of The Review of Politics, at the University of Notre Dame. She has written several books, including Plato's Philosophers: The Coherence of the Dialogues. Her books have won several awards, including: the R. R. Hawkins award for the Best Scholarly and Professional Book published in 2009; PROSE awards for the best book in philosophy and excellence in the humanities and the PSP award for the Best Book in Philosophy and Religion in 1990. Zuckert has had articles published in Political Theory, The Journal of Politics, History of Political Thought, The Review of Politics, Philosophy and Rhetoric, Epoché, Review of Metaphysics, Polity, Interpretation, and The Claremont Review of Books.


    Catherine H. Zuckert, David Fott, Tracy B. Strong, Joseph Buttigieg, Steven B. Smith, Ellis Sandoz, Walter Nicgorski, Dana R. Villa, Eric Mack, Timothy Fuller, William Galston, John M. Finnis, Paul Weithman, Michael Bacon, William Leon McBride, Alan Milchman, Alan Rosenberg, William E. Scheuerman, Arthur Madigan SJ, Ruth Abbey

Sign In

Please sign in to access your account


Not already registered? Create an account now. ×

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.