Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist
Entering the Child's Mind

Entering the Child's Mind
The Clinical Interview In Psychological Research and Practice

£37.99

  • Date Published: March 1998
  • availability: Available
  • format: Paperback
  • isbn: 9780521498036

£ 37.99
Paperback

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Other available formats:
Hardback, eBook


Looking for an inspection copy?

This title is not currently available on inspection

Description
Product filter button
Description
Contents
Resources
Courses
About the Authors
  • Entering the Child's Mind teaches a powerful technique for gaining insight into a child's way of thinking. In the tradition of Piaget and Vygotsky, Dr Herbert P. Ginsburg argues that standardized instruments of evaluation often fail to meet the challenges of complex cognition. He presents the 'clinical interview' as a powerful tool that, when understood and used properly, can provide psychologists with a profound appreciation for children's thinking. Dr Ginsburg aims to convince the reader that the method has important applications in research, clinical practice, and education. The clinical interview offers a degree of flexibility that allows psychologists to more closely assess the thinking of a particular child.

    • The first comprehensive treatment of the theory and practice of the clinical interview method
    • Presents underlying rationale for a key 'qualitative' method, the deliberately non-standardized clinical interview procedure
    • Offers user-friendly practical guidelines for conducting the clinical interview
    Read more

    Reviews & endorsements

    'Ginsburg's excellent account of the clinical interview should appeal to anyone who works, or is thinking of working with children.' Janine Spencer, London Guildhall University

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity

    ×

    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?

    ×

    Product details

    • Date Published: March 1998
    • format: Paperback
    • isbn: 9780521498036
    • length: 296 pages
    • dimensions: 238 x 145 x 20 mm
    • weight: 0.44kg
    • contains: 1 b/w illus. 5 maps 1 table
    • availability: Available
  • Table of Contents

    1. The need to move beyond standardized methods
    2. What is the clinical interview? Where did it come from? Why do it?
    3. What happens in the clinical interview
    4. Not a cookbook: guidelines for conducting a clinical interview
    5. Evaluating clinical interviews: how good are they
    6. Towards the future: the clinical interview and the curriculum
    Appendix.

  • Author

    Herbert P. Ginsburg, Columbia University, New York

Sign In

Please sign in to access your account

Cancel

Not already registered? Create an account now. ×

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email lecturers@cambridge.org

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner www.ebooks.com. Please see the permission section of the www.ebooks.com catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.

Cancel

Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

×
Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.
×